Approved Austin Online Defensive Driving and Insurance Reduction Courses

  • Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR) Approved online defensive driving course
  • Austin County Ticket Dismissal and Insurance Reduction
  • $25 – lowest price in the State of Texas
  • Our 6-hour online driver safety course is a fun, interactive and easy way to dismiss a ticket and lower your insurance costs. It is fully approved by the TDLR for Austin County citation dismissal (TDLR Provider # CP021).
  • Once you complete this internet defensive driving course, we will ship your certificate of completion to you by regular US Mail free of charge. If you are in a hurry, you may also select any of our convenient expedited shipping methods through FedEx for an additional charge.
Enroll Now

Austin County Texas Defensive Driving Information

Austin Texas Traffic Violations

Without question, the best way to avoid the problems that come with a traffic ticket is simply to avoid violating the traffic laws.  Unfortunately, that is not always the situation we find ourselves in.  if you are pulled over in Austin Texas for violating a traffic law, you can expect to become the proud recipient of a traffic violation, courtesy of your Austin Texas law enforcement.

The citation you receive will have several pieces of important information on it.  First, it will provide you with a court date.  You will need this date in the event you wish to attend a Texas Education Agency (TEA) approved Austin Texas defensive driving course, dispute the ticket or if your violation is serious enough in nature that you are required to appear in court.  Also, if you are under 18, Texas law will usually require you to appear in court with your parents or legal guardian.

Second, the citation will provide you with contact information for the Austin Texas court handling your traffic violation.  No matter how you plan to handle your citation, you must call the Austin Texas court within ten days of being issued the citation, or risk heavier fines and penalties.  If you fail to call or show up in person to the Austin Texas court for long enough, a bench warrant will be put out for your arrest.  Do not let this happen.  Contact the Austin Texas court stated on your ticket immediately after being issued a citation.

When you contact the Austin Texas court, you will also find out how to pay your citation.  Counties differ within Texas so you should ask the Austin Texas court handling your ticket what payment methods are available and if you are eligible to attend a Austin Texas ticket dismissal course such as GetDefensive.com.

Austin Texas Driver Responsibility Program

A fine is not all that comes along with your newly issued citation.  The state of Texas also operates the Driver Responsibility Program ("DRP").  The DRP is a monitoring program designed to track your Texas driving record and identify problem drivers based on their traffic history.

The DRP uses a relatively straightforward formula for assessing points against your TX driver record.  First, safety belt violations and violations for speeding less than 10% over the posted speed limit results in no additional points on your driving record.  Otherwise, all traffic violations result in two points being added to your record.  If the violation also caused an accident, you will receive a third point.

These points will appear on your Texas driver record if you are issued a citation outside the state of Texas as well, based on the same formula, as other states will notify the Texas Department of Public Safety, which oversees the DRP.

If your violation is severe, such as for driving under the influence, driving without a valid license or violating state automobile insurance mandates, the Department of Public Safety (DPS)will also levy on your annual fines, known as Conviction Based Surcharges.  These fines are significant (reaching as high as $2,000) and are imposed not once, but annually for each year the offense remains on your record-- a maximum of three years.  While it may be convenient to drive without a Texas driver license or a cheap solution to avoid car insurance payments, it is simply not worth it to have to pay in excess of $5,000 over several years, in addition to the initial violation fines, court costs and likely the cost to have your Texas driving privileges reinstated.

Suspension of Texas Driving Privileges

The points you accumulate through the Texas Driver Responsibility Program add up quickly.  If you incur just six points in three years-- one traffic violation per year-- the Texas Department of Public Safety will suspend your Texas driving privileges.  You can also face suspension if you avoid tallying too many points but are labeled as a "habitual offender."  Austin Texas drivers who incur four violations in two years or 7 in four years are considered habitual offenders by the state of Texas and face suspension of their Texas driving privileges.  If you are a juvenile driver under 18 years of age, your driving privileges can be revoked for just two traffic violations in a single year.  The violations counting toward a habitual offender moniker, just like points accumulation, include all out of state offenses that would have qualified had they been issued in Austin Texas.

The cost of having your driving privileges reinstated can be hefty and will pile on top of the fines for your most recent violation as well as the costs of appearing in court to defend yourself.  It is in your best interest and the best interests of your wallet that you avoid accumulating traffic violations on your Texas driver record.

Austin Texas Defensive Driving Programs

Should you find yourself in any of the precarious situations above, a Austin Texas defensive driving program may be able to help you avoid the unfortunate consequences.  The Texas Education Agency allows Austin Texas drivers to attend a Austin Texas driver safety program, including the Austin Texas online defensive driving courses offered by Getdefensive.com, in order to have up to one traffic violation per year expunged from their Texas Department of Public Safety driving record.  In order to receive this benefit, however, you must first receive permission from the Austin Texas court handling your violation when you call in or appear in court.  This permission is not guaranteed, however, and will likely be based on the cleanliness of your Texas driving record to date, as well as the severity of your most recent violation.  Also, if you have taken ten defensive driving programs and are back for your eleventh, a Austin Texas court may feel that you need a different form of rehabilitation in order to improve your safe driving habits.

However, most often you will be given an opportunity to have the violation removed from your Texas driver record.  If you are given such an opportunity, a Austin Texas internet driver safety or Austin Texas internet driver improvement program will not only remove the violation from your record, but will also eliminate the points that would have attached to your record as a result of your guilty plea or conviction.  These benefits come in addition to the considerable costs you will avoid by not being labeled a habitual offender or having your Texas drivers license temporarily suspended.

Austin Texas Insurance Discounts

A Austin Texas driver has much to gain by keeping a clean driving record through participation in a Austin Texas online driver safety program such as those offered by Getdefensive.com, beyond simply avoiding a suspended license.  Online Austin Texas defensive driving programs teach valuable safe driving techniques and foster defensive driving habits that will help you avoid your next traffic violation.  Additionally, in the event you find yourself incurring a traffic violation in the future, a Austin Texas court is much more likely to offer you a chance to have that violation wiped when your Texas driver record is clean and you have shown yourself to be committed to safe driving by enrolling in a Austin Texas online defensive driving program like Getdefensive.comGetdefensive.com offers many forms of home-study Texas defensive driving courses, including Austin Texas online defensive driving, Austin Texas DVD video defensive driving and Austin Texas streaming video defensive driving which can be viewed on your home computer.

A clean Texas driving record also keep you eligible for up to a 10% insurance reduction.  Insurance providers base the premiums you pay on your Austin Texas driving experience and your history of traffic violation.  Texas law protects you as an insurance owner from having your rates raised each time you pay a traffic ticket.  However, Austin Texas insurance carriers are not entitled to cover you if you show yourself to be a habitually bad driver.  Also, after three citations you insurance carrier is allowed by law to cancel your coverage immediately.  If that happens, it is highly unlikely that your next carrier will offer you a low or moderate price.  Keeping your driving record clean and having the experience of completing a Austin Texas online defensive driving program will help you avoid costly hikes in your insurance coverage.

Austin Texas Mature Driver and Austin Texas Juvenile Driver Insurance Discounts

Austin Texas drivers over the age of 55 and juvenile drivers under the age of 18 have an added incentive to enroll in a Austin Texas online defensive driving program:  insurance discounts.  To promote safe driving, most auto insurers provide additional discounts to both older and younger Texas drivers.  If you are a driver under the age of 18 or a parents of a juvenile driver, or you are a mature driver of the age of 55, contact your auto insurance provider to find out if an online driver safety program will help you secure an insurance reduction even before any accident or traffic violation has occurred.  This active approach may not just result in lower premiums now, but help keep them low in the event of a future traffic citation.

Austin Texas Classroom Driver Safety Schools

Some people prefer learning in a traditional classroom setting to the ease of taking a Austin Texas defensive driving program from the comfort of their own home.  If you would like to participate in a driver safety program to help lower your  insurance costs, to remove a traffic violation from your Texas driving record or because you were ordered to do so by a Austin Texas court, you should ask the Austin Texas court overseeing your citation and they will be happy to provide you with a list of brick and mortar traffic schools  in and around Austin Texas when you call into discuss your citation.

BECOME A GETDEFENSIVE PARTNER & MAKE $$$!

Do you own a brick and mortar traffic school?

has your school ben losing customers daily?

Do you want to start offering an online traffic school course to get your customers back?

If you answered yes to all of those above questions then you must watch this short video. It will change your business

See How

Customer Reviews

This Texas online defensive driving course is very informational. A great refresher course. I believe all drivers should be required to take the course by Texas state law. It would help drastically in the region I live in. It's very clear most drivers don't understand the etiquette and laws of the road.

-"J. Drube"

Thanks guys for setting up this amazing web site. I had a great learning experience with my online defensive driving class, I will definitely recommend you guys to my friends.

-"J. Gomez"

Despite not looking forward to taking the Texas Online Defensive Driving Course I actually found it to be easy and quick. Thanks for making the process so easy. I am not so great with computers as I am from a different generation LOL but the whole process was very simple, which is more than I can say for other website programs I have used.

-"G. Salazar"

Read More

Frequently Asked Questions

What payment method do you want me to use for taking the GetDefensive.com Austin Texas defensive driving class?

We accept either credit card payments or online check payments. The class fee must be paid in full before you begin taking GetDefensive.com’s Austin Texas defensive driving class.

Once I’m done with the GetDefensive.com Austin Texas defensive driving/ticket dismissal online course, how will you get my certificate to me?
After you have completed GetDefensive.com's Austin Texas online defensive driving/driver safety/ticket dismissal course, we will send your certificate of completion to you via regular mail.  However, if your court deadline is close and you need to receive it quickly, we suggest you use one of our expedited shipping options and have your certificate shipped via FedEx (Federal Express).  Unfortunately, GetDefensive.com is unable to send completion certificates via fax or email.
Can GetDefensive.com assure me that the personal information I enter on your website such as my credit card number will be kept secure?

Protecting our customers’ private information is one of GetDefensive.com’s top priorities, which is why we use SSL encryption to protect the personal information and identity of our customers. When you sign up to take GetDefensive.com’s Austin Texas online defensive driving course or online traffic school course or online driver safety course, or online insurance reduction course, you can be assured that your personal information (i.e.--your credit card number, address, etc.) is safely guarded.

How much will I have to shell out for taking the Austin Texas online defensive driving course or the Austin Texas streaming video course or the Austin Texas DVD defensive driving course or the Austin Texas online traffic school course?

GetDefensive.com offers the Austin Texas online defensive driving course or the Austin Texas traffic school course for $25.00 which is the minimum price allowed under Austin Texas state law. If you opt to take the Austin Texas streaming video course or the Austin Texas DVD defensive driving course, the fee may be a little higher.

 

How exactly does the Austin Texas driver improvement/defensive driving online course proceed?

First off, there are two (2) basic types of Austin Texas defensive driving online courses offered thru GetDefensive.com:  ticket dismissal and insurance reduction.  These Austin Texas defensive driving online courses may be taken on any computer that has access to the internet.  You do not need to take the entire course at once; you may start and stop as often as you need to and then continue from where you left off.  The Austin Texas defensive driving online course is divided into chapters or sections.  At the end of each chapter or section, you will take a brief multiple-choice quiz which will help prepare you for the final exam at the end of the course.  After you pass the final exam, we will issue you a certificate of completion, which will be sent to you via the shipping method you chose at the time of registration.

Is it true that I can save money on auto insurance by taking GetDefensive.com's defensive driving online course/insurance reduction online course?
Most of the time, yes.  Many Austin Texas insurance carriers offer up to a 10% discount to policyholders who pass a Austin Texas defensive driving course/insurance reduction course approved by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR).  However, we strongly recommend that you check with your local Austin Texas insurance agent before taking GetDefensive.com's online defensive driving/insurance reduction course.  Also, any GetDefensive.com customer who successfully completes our online defensive driving course for ticket dismissal will receive a second copy of their certificate of completion for their insurance agent.
If I take the GetDefensive.com Austin Texas online defensive driving class/online driver improvement class in sections, is it necessary for me to take the whole class on the one (1) computer?

No, you do not have to take the entire Austin Texas defensive driving online course offered by GetDefensive.com on only one computer. You may take it on more than one computer so long as the computer you use has the required flash and browser in order for GetDefensive.com’s pages to display correctly. Our system will automatically check any computer you log onto to see if it has the needed software.

How many hours does it normally take to complete the Austin Texas online defensive driving course or Austin Texas online insurance reduction course GetDefensive.com offers? I’ve heard it’s pretty long, and I need to find a day when I’m not too busy to take it.

Everyone works at a different pace, but normally it doesn’t take more than a half-day or so. However, you do not need to take the entire GetDefensive.com Austin Texas defensive driving course all at once. Your completed work is saved as you work through the GetDefensive.com Austin Texas defensive driving course so you can stop and start as often as you like until you complete the course.

I’m taking the Austin Texas driver improvement course or the Austin Texas video traffic school course or the Austin Texas online defensive driving course or the Austin Texas streaming defensive driving video course to get a ticket off my record. After the course is over, are you guys going to mail me a diploma to show the judge?

Upon your completion of the Austin Texas driver improvement course or the Austin Texas video traffic school course or the Austin Texas online defensive driving course or the Austin Texas streaming defensive driving video course, GetDefensive.com will send your certificate of completion to your home or business address via standard U.S. mail (or for an additional fee, you may request that it be sent to you via FedEx). It will be your responsibility to present your certificate to the court.

What can GetDefensive.com do for customers with certified reading disabilities, but need to take the Austin Texas defensive driving/driver improvement course?

GetDefensive.com’s online defensive driving/traffic school/driver improvement/driver safety course is much more involved than just reading text. We include a lot of multi-media material, such as interactive videos, animations, and graphics which help give your eyes a rest from reading and also makes taking defensive driving more enjoyable. However, in accordance with the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA), GetDefensive.com offers the "Read Along Option", which includes a recorded voice reading the text out loud to you while you follow along with the online text.

Is GetDefensive.com’s online defensive driving course endorsed by the State of Austin Texas ? I need to take a defensive driving course to get a ticket wiped off my driving record but I don’t know if the local traffic court here will accept GetDefensive.com’s internet course or not.

Absolutely!  GetDefensive.com's defensive driving online course is 100% certified in the State of Austin Texas for ticket dismissal.

Would I be permitted to take the GetDefensive.com Austin Texas defensive driving course again if I took it less than twelve (12) months ago?

No. Unfortunately Austin Texas law only allows you one (1) ticket dismissal within a twelve (12) month period. You would not be eligible to have your most recent ticket dismissed by taking GetDefensive.com’s Austin Texas online defensive driving course if you’ve had a ticket dismissed within the last twelve (12) months.

Are the quizzes only to prep me for the final test or do they also count towards my overall course score?

The quizzes are designed solely to help you prepare for the final exam which you will take at the very end of the GetDefensive.com Austin Texas online defensive driving/driver safety/insurance reduction course. Your performance on the quizzes will have no impact on your overall course score/grade.

Does taking the Austin Texas insurance reduction course online count the same as taking the Austin Texas insurance reduction course in a traditional classroom setting?

Yes, it does! By taking GetDefensive.com’s Austin Texas online insurance reduction course or GetDefensive.com’s Austin Texas online defensive driving course, you don’t have to worry about giving up a Saturday to sit through a long classroom seminar. Just take the course from any computer with internet access.

If I take GetDefensive.com's Austin Texas defensive driving/ticket dismissal course online, would that expunge all of my recent tickets from my driving record?
No.  The Texas Education Agency only allows defendants to dismiss one (1) traffic ticket every 12 months.  If you have taken a defensive driving course within the past 12 months or are uncertain when you last took a driver safety course, we suggest you check with your Austin Texas court to see if you're qualified to take a ticket dismissal course at this time or order a copy of your Texas Driver Record.  If you are currently eligible to take a course, you may take GetDefensive.com's defensive driving/driver safety/ticket dismissal course online to have one (1) ticket dismissed, but you won't be able to have more than one (1) ticket/citation removed from your record by taking our online course.
When I take the GetDefensive.com Austin Texas online defensive driving course/online traffic school course, what will you need from me insofar as verifying my identity?

GetDefensive.com will verify your identity in one of two ways:  one is by pulling questions from both your driver record filed with the Texas Department of Public Safety (TX DPS) and your vehicle registration filed with the Texas Department of Transportation (TX DOT). 

However, if you do not have both a driver record and a registered vehicle in Texas, you will need to provide a signed and notarized Statement of Assurance and you will need to answer various personal questions while you are taking the Austin Texas online defensive driving course. 

Online defensive driving and online traffic school courses also offered in these counties:

Anderson County Donley County Kaufman County Reagan County
Andrews County Duval County Kendall County Real County
Angelina County Eastland County Kenedy County Red River County
Aransas County Ector County Kent County Reeves County
Archer County Edwards County Kerr County Refugio County
Armstrong County El Paso County Kimble County Roberts County
Atascosa County Ellis County King County Robertson County
Austin County Erath County Kinney County Rockwall County
Bailey County Falls County Kleberg County Runnels County
Bandera County Fannin County Knox County Rusk County
Bastrop County Fayette County La Salle County Sabine County
Baylor County Fisher County Lamar County San Augustine County
Bee County Floyd County Lamb County San Jacinto County
Bell County Foard County Lampasas County San Patricio County
Bexar County Fort Bend County Lavaca County San Saba County
Blanco County Franklin County Lee County Schleicher County
Borden County Freestone County Leon County Scurry County
Bosque County Frio County Liberty County Shackelford County
Bowie County Gaines County Limestone County Shelby County
Brazoria County Galveston County Lipscomb County Sherman County
Brazos County Garza County Live Oak County Smith County
Brewster County Gillespie County Llano County Somervell County
Briscoe County Glasscock County Loving County Starr County
Brooks County Goliad County Lubbock County Stephens County
Brown County Gonzales County Lynn County Sterling County
Burleson County Gray County Madison County Stonewall County
Burnet County Grayson County Marion County Sutton County
Caldwell County Gregg County Martin County Swisher County
Calhoun County Grimes County Mason County Tarrant County
Callahan County Guadalupe County Matagorda County Taylor County
Cameron County Hale County Maverick County Terrell County
Camp County Hall County McCulloch County Terry County
Carson County Hamilton County McLennan County Throckmorton County
Cass County Hansford County McMullen County Titus County
Castro County Hardeman County Medina County Tom Green County
Chambers County Hardin County Menard County Travis County
Cherokee County Harris County Midland County Trinity County
Childress County Harrison County Milam County Tyler County
Clay County Hartley County Mills County Upshur County
Cochran County Haskell County Mitchell County Upton County
Coke County Hays County Montague County Uvalde County
Coleman County Hemphill County Montgomery County Val Verde County
Collin County Henderson County Moore County Van Zandt County
Collingsworth County Hidalgo County Morris County Victoria County
Colorado County Hill County Motley County Walker County
Comal County Hockley County Municipal Judge City of Clyde County Waller County
Comanche County Hood County Nacogdoches County Ward County
Concho County Hopkins County Navarro County Washington County
Cooke County Houston County Newton County Webb County
Coryell County Howard County Nolan County Wharton County
Cottle County Hudspeth County Nueces County Wheeler County
Crane County Hunt County Ochiltree County Wichita County
Crockett County Hutchinson County Oldham County Wilbarger County
Crosby County Irion County Orange County Willacy County
Culberson County Jack County Palo Pinto County Williamson County
Dallam County Jackson County Panola County Wilson County
Dallas County Jasper County Parker County Winkler County
Dawson County Jeff Davis County Parmer County Wise County
De Witt County Jefferson County Pecos County Wood County
Deaf Smith County Jim Hogg County Polk County Yoakum County
Delta County Jim Wells County Potter County Young County
Denton County Johnson County Presidio County Zapata County
Dickens County Jones County Rains County Zavala County
Dimmit County Karnes County Randall County

GetDefensive.com is not affiliated with any of the following defensive driving schools: Azteca Defensive Driving, Texas Driving School, Plano Defensive Driving, Carroll Watkins Driving School, All Star Driving School, Allstars Defensive Driving School, Angelo Driving Academy, Inc., Angels Defensive Driving.