Approved Duval Online Defensive Driving and Insurance Reduction Courses

  • Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR) Approved online defensive driving course
  • Duval County Ticket Dismissal and Insurance Reduction
  • $25 – lowest price in the State of Texas
  • Our 6-hour online driver safety course is a fun, interactive and easy way to dismiss a ticket and lower your insurance costs. It is fully approved by the TDLR for Duval County citation dismissal (TDLR Provider # CP021).
  • Once you complete this internet defensive driving course, we will ship your certificate of completion to you by regular US Mail free of charge. If you are in a hurry, you may also select any of our convenient expedited shipping methods through FedEx for an additional charge.
Enroll Now

Duval County Texas Defensive Driving Information

Duval Texas Traffic Violations

Without question, the best way to avoid the problems that come with a traffic ticket is simply to avoid violating the traffic laws.  Unfortunately, that is not always the situation we find ourselves in.  if you are pulled over in Duval Texas for violating a traffic law, you can expect to become the proud recipient of a traffic violation, courtesy of your Duval Texas law enforcement.

The citation you receive will have several pieces of important information on it.  First, it will provide you with a court date.  You will need this date in the event you wish to attend a Texas Education Agency (TEA) approved Duval Texas defensive driving course, dispute the ticket or if your violation is serious enough in nature that you are required to appear in court.  Also, if you are under 18, Texas law will usually require you to appear in court with your parents or legal guardian.

Second, the citation will provide you with contact information for the Duval Texas court handling your traffic violation.  No matter how you plan to handle your citation, you must call the Duval Texas court within ten days of being issued the citation, or risk heavier fines and penalties.  If you fail to call or show up in person to the Duval Texas court for long enough, a bench warrant will be put out for your arrest.  Do not let this happen.  Contact the Duval Texas court stated on your ticket immediately after being issued a citation.

When you contact the Duval Texas court, you will also find out how to pay your citation.  Counties differ within Texas so you should ask the Duval Texas court handling your ticket what payment methods are available and if you are eligible to attend a Duval Texas ticket dismissal course such as GetDefensive.com.

Duval Texas Driver Responsibility Program

A fine is not all that comes along with your newly issued citation.  The state of Texas also operates the Driver Responsibility Program ("DRP").  The DRP is a monitoring program designed to track your Texas driving record and identify problem drivers based on their traffic history.

The DRP uses a relatively straightforward formula for assessing points against your TX driver record.  First, safety belt violations and violations for speeding less than 10% over the posted speed limit results in no additional points on your driving record.  Otherwise, all traffic violations result in two points being added to your record.  If the violation also caused an accident, you will receive a third point.

These points will appear on your Texas driver record if you are issued a citation outside the state of Texas as well, based on the same formula, as other states will notify the Texas Department of Public Safety, which oversees the DRP.

If your violation is severe, such as for driving under the influence, driving without a valid license or violating state automobile insurance mandates, the Department of Public Safety (DPS)will also levy on your annual fines, known as Conviction Based Surcharges.  These fines are significant (reaching as high as $2,000) and are imposed not once, but annually for each year the offense remains on your record-- a maximum of three years.  While it may be convenient to drive without a Texas driver license or a cheap solution to avoid car insurance payments, it is simply not worth it to have to pay in excess of $5,000 over several years, in addition to the initial violation fines, court costs and likely the cost to have your Texas driving privileges reinstated.

Suspension of Texas Driving Privileges

The points you accumulate through the Texas Driver Responsibility Program add up quickly.  If you incur just six points in three years-- one traffic violation per year-- the Texas Department of Public Safety will suspend your Texas driving privileges.  You can also face suspension if you avoid tallying too many points but are labeled as a "habitual offender."  Duval Texas drivers who incur four violations in two years or 7 in four years are considered habitual offenders by the state of Texas and face suspension of their Texas driving privileges.  If you are a juvenile driver under 18 years of age, your driving privileges can be revoked for just two traffic violations in a single year.  The violations counting toward a habitual offender moniker, just like points accumulation, include all out of state offenses that would have qualified had they been issued in Duval Texas.

The cost of having your driving privileges reinstated can be hefty and will pile on top of the fines for your most recent violation as well as the costs of appearing in court to defend yourself.  It is in your best interest and the best interests of your wallet that you avoid accumulating traffic violations on your Texas driver record.

Duval Texas Defensive Driving Programs

Should you find yourself in any of the precarious situations above, a Duval Texas defensive driving program may be able to help you avoid the unfortunate consequences.  The Texas Education Agency allows Duval Texas drivers to attend a Duval Texas driver safety program, including the Duval Texas online defensive driving courses offered by Getdefensive.com, in order to have up to one traffic violation per year expunged from their Texas Department of Public Safety driving record.  In order to receive this benefit, however, you must first receive permission from the Duval Texas court handling your violation when you call in or appear in court.  This permission is not guaranteed, however, and will likely be based on the cleanliness of your Texas driving record to date, as well as the severity of your most recent violation.  Also, if you have taken ten defensive driving programs and are back for your eleventh, a Duval Texas court may feel that you need a different form of rehabilitation in order to improve your safe driving habits.

However, most often you will be given an opportunity to have the violation removed from your Texas driver record.  If you are given such an opportunity, a Duval Texas internet driver safety or Duval Texas internet driver improvement program will not only remove the violation from your record, but will also eliminate the points that would have attached to your record as a result of your guilty plea or conviction.  These benefits come in addition to the considerable costs you will avoid by not being labeled a habitual offender or having your Texas drivers license temporarily suspended.

Duval Texas Insurance Discounts

A Duval Texas driver has much to gain by keeping a clean driving record through participation in a Duval Texas online driver safety program such as those offered by Getdefensive.com, beyond simply avoiding a suspended license.  Online Duval Texas defensive driving programs teach valuable safe driving techniques and foster defensive driving habits that will help you avoid your next traffic violation.  Additionally, in the event you find yourself incurring a traffic violation in the future, a Duval Texas court is much more likely to offer you a chance to have that violation wiped when your Texas driver record is clean and you have shown yourself to be committed to safe driving by enrolling in a Duval Texas online defensive driving program like Getdefensive.comGetdefensive.com offers many forms of home-study Texas defensive driving courses, including Duval Texas online defensive driving, Duval Texas DVD video defensive driving and Duval Texas streaming video defensive driving which can be viewed on your home computer.

A clean Texas driving record also keep you eligible for up to a 10% insurance reduction.  Insurance providers base the premiums you pay on your Duval Texas driving experience and your history of traffic violation.  Texas law protects you as an insurance owner from having your rates raised each time you pay a traffic ticket.  However, Duval Texas insurance carriers are not entitled to cover you if you show yourself to be a habitually bad driver.  Also, after three citations you insurance carrier is allowed by law to cancel your coverage immediately.  If that happens, it is highly unlikely that your next carrier will offer you a low or moderate price.  Keeping your driving record clean and having the experience of completing a Duval Texas online defensive driving program will help you avoid costly hikes in your insurance coverage.

Duval Texas Mature Driver and Duval Texas Juvenile Driver Insurance Discounts

Duval Texas drivers over the age of 55 and juvenile drivers under the age of 18 have an added incentive to enroll in a Duval Texas online defensive driving program:  insurance discounts.  To promote safe driving, most auto insurers provide additional discounts to both older and younger Texas drivers.  If you are a driver under the age of 18 or a parents of a juvenile driver, or you are a mature driver of the age of 55, contact your auto insurance provider to find out if an online driver safety program will help you secure an insurance reduction even before any accident or traffic violation has occurred.  This active approach may not just result in lower premiums now, but help keep them low in the event of a future traffic citation.

Duval Texas Classroom Driver Safety Schools

Some people prefer learning in a traditional classroom setting to the ease of taking a Duval Texas defensive driving program from the comfort of their own home.  If you would like to participate in a driver safety program to help lower your  insurance costs, to remove a traffic violation from your Texas driving record or because you were ordered to do so by a Duval Texas court, you should ask the Duval Texas court overseeing your citation and they will be happy to provide you with a list of brick and mortar traffic schools  in and around Duval Texas when you call into discuss your citation.

BECOME A GETDEFENSIVE PARTNER & MAKE $$$!

Do you own a brick and mortar traffic school?

has your school ben losing customers daily?

Do you want to start offering an online traffic school course to get your customers back?

If you answered yes to all of those above questions then you must watch this short video. It will change your business

See How

Customer Reviews

This Texas online defensive driving course is very informational. A great refresher course. I believe all drivers should be required to take the course by Texas state law. It would help drastically in the region I live in. It's very clear most drivers don't understand the etiquette and laws of the road.

-"J. Drube"

Thanks guys for setting up this amazing web site. I had a great learning experience with my online defensive driving class, I will definitely recommend you guys to my friends.

-"J. Gomez"

Despite not looking forward to taking the Texas Online Defensive Driving Course I actually found it to be easy and quick. Thanks for making the process so easy. I am not so great with computers as I am from a different generation LOL but the whole process was very simple, which is more than I can say for other website programs I have used.

-"G. Salazar"

Read More

Frequently Asked Questions

Does GetDefensive.com have a select method of payment for taking its Duval Texas defensive driving online class/driver improvement online class?

The two (2) ways you can pay for taking GetDefensive.com’s Duval Texas defensive driving online class with a credit card or with an online check. Payment must be received prior to your starting the class.

Once I’m done with the GetDefensive.com Duval Texas defensive driving/ticket dismissal online course, how will you get my certificate to me?
After you have completed GetDefensive.com's Duval Texas online defensive driving/driver safety/ticket dismissal course, we will send your certificate of completion to you via regular mail.  However, if your court deadline is close and you need to receive it quickly, we suggest you use one of our expedited shipping options and have your certificate shipped via FedEx (Federal Express).  Unfortunately, GetDefensive.com is unable to send completion certificates via fax or email.
How safe is GetDefensive.com’s website? Can I pay on your website using my credit card without worrying about my number being stolen?

Absolutely! At GetDefensive.com, we take protecting our customers’ private information very seriously. We use SSL encryption to protect your credit card information, address, and any other personal information you provide us via the internet. When you sign up to take our Duval Texas online defensive driving/driver safety/insurance reduction course, you can rest assured that your personal information and identity are safe.

What is my financial obligation for signing up for the Duval Texas video defensive driving course or the Duval Texas streaming video course or the Duval Texas online traffic school course or the Duval Texas online defensive driving course?

GetDefensive.com offers the Duval Texas defensive driving course or the driver improvement course online for a $25.00 fee. However, the fee may be higher if you choose to take the Duval Texas streaming video course of the Duval Texas video defensive driving course (available on DVD). $25.00 is the minimum allowable price under Duval Texas state law.

This is my first (1st) defensive driving course. What exactly happens between the time I register to take the GetDefensive.com Duval Texas defensive driving online course and the time I receive my diploma?

There are two (2) basic types of Duval Texas defensive driving courses are available at GetDefensive.com: Duval Texas ticket dismissal and Duval Texas insurance reduction. 

These Duval Texas defensive driving courses may be taken on any computer with internet access.  You may start and stop the Duval Texas driver safety course at your convenience.  Our system remembers exactly where you left off, so you will be able to continue working from where you previously stopped.  The Duval Texas online traffic school course is divided into chapters, and each chapter is followed by a brief multiple choice quiz that is designed to prepare you for the Duval Texas final exam. 

Once you pass the Duval Texas online driving test exam we will issue you a Duval Texas certificate of completion.   The Duval Texas certificate will be sent to you according to whatever shipping method you chose at registration.

Will my insurance premium be reduced if I take the Duval Texas defensive driving online course/insurance reduction online course that GetDefensive.com offers over the internet?
We recommend that you ask your Duval Texas insurance agent before signing up to take GetDefensive.com's defensive driving course online/insurance reduction course online, however we can tell you that many Duval Texas insurance carriers do offer up to a 10% auto insurance discount to policyholders who successfully complete a Texas Education Agency (TEA)-approved defensive driving/driver safety/insurance reduction course.  Additionally, any GetDefensive.com customer who successfully completes our Duval Texas defensive driving course online for ticket dismissal purposes will receive an additional copy of their completion certificate to give to their insurance agent.


What happens if I have to change computers in the middle of GetDefensive.com's Duval Texas online defensive driving class? Would I lose all the work I've already done?

No, absolutely not.  GetDefensive.com gives you the freedom to take the Duval Texas online defensive driving class on more than one (1) computer as GetDefensive.com will save your information as you work through the course. 

Please be sure that any computer you plan to use is equipped with the required flash and browser features.  GetDefensive.com will automatically check any computer you log onto for the first time to see if the needed software is installed on it.

With my hectic schedule, I don’t see how I can take the entire GetDefensive.com Duval Texas defensive driving class all at once unless I skip sleep for one night. Is there any way I can take GetDefensive.com’s internet defensive driving course can be taken little by little?

Absolutely! At GetDefensive.com, we understand how hectic many of our customers’ schedules are. That’s why GetDefensive.com is designed to save your completed work while you take the Duval Texas online defensive driving course, so you can stop and start as often as you need to complete the course without disrupting your regular schedule. However, please remember that you do need to complete the course within the set time period the court has given you in order to have your ticket dismissed.

I’ll soon be done with the Duval Texas internet video course or the Duval Texas driver improvement course or the Duval Texas video traffic school course or the Duval Texas online defensive driving course. Where’s my certificate?

After you’re done with Duval Texas internet video course or the Duval Texas driver improvement course or the Duval Texas video traffic school course or the Duval Texas online defensive driving course, your certificate of completion will be mailed to your home or business address. 

What does GetDefensive.com do for those people who cannot read or have visual impairments which make reading difficult for them?
GetDefensive.com’s Duval Texas online defensive driving/driver safety course includes numerous multi-media elements such as animations and interactive videos which help break up the text. However, we do offer the "read along" option with our online course which includes a narrator reading the course’s text aloud for you as you follow along with the online text. This program is fully compliant with the ADA as it assists our customers who have learning disabilities and/or visual impairments.
Is GetDefensive.com’s insurance reduction online course considered a legally-acceptable defensive driving class or course in Duval Texas which will get my insurance premiums reduced?

GetDefensive.com’s online insurance reduction/defensive driving course is approved by every court in Duval Texas for ticket dismissal.

You may also qualify for an insurance premium discount for taking GetDefensive.com’s online insurance reduction/defensive driving course, however we recommend that you check with your Duval Texas insurance agent ahead of time.

I got my second (2nd) ticket in four (4) months. Last time I took GetDefensive.com’s Duval Texas defensive driving online course/driver safety online course to get my last ticket dismissed. Can I re-take your Duval Texas defensive driving online course/driver safety online course to get my new ticket expunged as well?

Duval Texas State Law only permits you one (1) ticket dismissal every twelve (12) months. Since your most recent dismissal was within the last twelve (12) months, you are not eligible to take GetDefensive.com’s Duval Texas defensive driving online course again at this time.

What is covered on the quizzes given throughout the Duval Texas defensive driving/insurance reduction online course?

The quizzes given throughout GetDefensive.com’s Duval Texas online defensive driving/driver safety/insurance reduction course cover the material which was covered in that particular chapter or section. The quizzes are designed to help get you ready for the driver safety final exam you will need to take at the end of the course.

Are there any alternatives to sitting in a classroom all day taking the Duval Texas defensive driving class?

Yes! Just sign up with GetDefensive.com and take the entire Duval Texas traffic school class right over the internet. It’s available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week and can be taken from any computer with internet access.

Would taking GetDefensive.com's Duval Texas defensive driving/driver safety/ticket dismissal course online get more than one (1) ticket dismissed?
Unfortunately, the law in Duval Texas only allows defendants one (1) ticket dismissal every 12 months.  If you are eligible to take a defensive driving/ticket dismissal class at this time, then you may take GetDefensive.com's defensive driving online course or ticket dismissal online course for the purpose of dismissing a single ticket.  However, you will not be able to dismiss multiple tickets by taking our online course.

If you have taken Duval Texas defensive driving within the past 12 months or are uncertain as to when and/or if you last took a defensive driving course, you will need to order a copy of your Texas Driver Record or ask the Duval Texas court if you are currently eligible to take a Duval Texas defensive driving/ticket dismissal course.
Will I be required to confirm my identity when I take GetDefensive.com's Duval Texas defensive driving class/driver improvement class?

Yes. When you take GetDefensive.com’s Duval Texas online defensive driving course, we will verify your identity in one of two ways: either by pulling questions from both your driver record filed with the Texas Dept. of Public Safety (DPS) and from your vehicle registration information filed with the Texas Department of Transportation (DOT), or if you do not have both a driver record and a registered vehicle on file with the State of Texas, you will need to provide a signed and notarized Statement of Assurance and you will be asked personal questions throughout the course.

Online defensive driving and online traffic school courses also offered in these counties:

Anderson County Donley County Kaufman County Reagan County
Andrews County Duval County Kendall County Real County
Angelina County Eastland County Kenedy County Red River County
Aransas County Ector County Kent County Reeves County
Archer County Edwards County Kerr County Refugio County
Armstrong County El Paso County Kimble County Roberts County
Atascosa County Ellis County King County Robertson County
Austin County Erath County Kinney County Rockwall County
Bailey County Falls County Kleberg County Runnels County
Bandera County Fannin County Knox County Rusk County
Bastrop County Fayette County La Salle County Sabine County
Baylor County Fisher County Lamar County San Augustine County
Bee County Floyd County Lamb County San Jacinto County
Bell County Foard County Lampasas County San Patricio County
Bexar County Fort Bend County Lavaca County San Saba County
Blanco County Franklin County Lee County Schleicher County
Borden County Freestone County Leon County Scurry County
Bosque County Frio County Liberty County Shackelford County
Bowie County Gaines County Limestone County Shelby County
Brazoria County Galveston County Lipscomb County Sherman County
Brazos County Garza County Live Oak County Smith County
Brewster County Gillespie County Llano County Somervell County
Briscoe County Glasscock County Loving County Starr County
Brooks County Goliad County Lubbock County Stephens County
Brown County Gonzales County Lynn County Sterling County
Burleson County Gray County Madison County Stonewall County
Burnet County Grayson County Marion County Sutton County
Caldwell County Gregg County Martin County Swisher County
Calhoun County Grimes County Mason County Tarrant County
Callahan County Guadalupe County Matagorda County Taylor County
Cameron County Hale County Maverick County Terrell County
Camp County Hall County McCulloch County Terry County
Carson County Hamilton County McLennan County Throckmorton County
Cass County Hansford County McMullen County Titus County
Castro County Hardeman County Medina County Tom Green County
Chambers County Hardin County Menard County Travis County
Cherokee County Harris County Midland County Trinity County
Childress County Harrison County Milam County Tyler County
Clay County Hartley County Mills County Upshur County
Cochran County Haskell County Mitchell County Upton County
Coke County Hays County Montague County Uvalde County
Coleman County Hemphill County Montgomery County Val Verde County
Collin County Henderson County Moore County Van Zandt County
Collingsworth County Hidalgo County Morris County Victoria County
Colorado County Hill County Motley County Walker County
Comal County Hockley County Municipal Judge City of Clyde County Waller County
Comanche County Hood County Nacogdoches County Ward County
Concho County Hopkins County Navarro County Washington County
Cooke County Houston County Newton County Webb County
Coryell County Howard County Nolan County Wharton County
Cottle County Hudspeth County Nueces County Wheeler County
Crane County Hunt County Ochiltree County Wichita County
Crockett County Hutchinson County Oldham County Wilbarger County
Crosby County Irion County Orange County Willacy County
Culberson County Jack County Palo Pinto County Williamson County
Dallam County Jackson County Panola County Wilson County
Dallas County Jasper County Parker County Winkler County
Dawson County Jeff Davis County Parmer County Wise County
De Witt County Jefferson County Pecos County Wood County
Deaf Smith County Jim Hogg County Polk County Yoakum County
Delta County Jim Wells County Potter County Young County
Denton County Johnson County Presidio County Zapata County
Dickens County Jones County Rains County Zavala County
Dimmit County Karnes County Randall County

GetDefensive.com is not affiliated with any of the following defensive driving schools: Mayborn Campus Center, Varsity Defensive Driving School, Independent Driving School, Drive Trainers, South Texas Dirving Services, ADS Adult Driving School, Salazar's Defensive Driving & Multiservice, Barrel of Fun.