Approved Hays Online Defensive Driving and Insurance Reduction Courses

  • Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR) Approved online defensive driving course
  • Hays County Ticket Dismissal and Insurance Reduction
  • $25 – lowest price in the State of Texas
  • Our 6-hour online driver safety course is a fun, interactive and easy way to dismiss a ticket and lower your insurance costs. It is fully approved by the TDLR for Hays County citation dismissal (TDLR Provider # CP021).
  • Once you complete this internet defensive driving course, we will ship your certificate of completion to you by regular US Mail free of charge. If you are in a hurry, you may also select any of our convenient expedited shipping methods through FedEx for an additional charge.
Enroll Now

Hays County Texas Defensive Driving Information

Hays Texas Traffic Violations

Without question, the best way to avoid the problems that come with a traffic ticket is simply to avoid violating the traffic laws.  Unfortunately, that is not always the situation we find ourselves in.  if you are pulled over in Hays Texas for violating a traffic law, you can expect to become the proud recipient of a traffic violation, courtesy of your Hays Texas law enforcement.

The citation you receive will have several pieces of important information on it.  First, it will provide you with a court date.  You will need this date in the event you wish to attend a Texas Education Agency (TEA) approved Hays Texas defensive driving course, dispute the ticket or if your violation is serious enough in nature that you are required to appear in court.  Also, if you are under 18, Texas law will usually require you to appear in court with your parents or legal guardian.

Second, the citation will provide you with contact information for the Hays Texas court handling your traffic violation.  No matter how you plan to handle your citation, you must call the Hays Texas court within ten days of being issued the citation, or risk heavier fines and penalties.  If you fail to call or show up in person to the Hays Texas court for long enough, a bench warrant will be put out for your arrest.  Do not let this happen.  Contact the Hays Texas court stated on your ticket immediately after being issued a citation.

When you contact the Hays Texas court, you will also find out how to pay your citation.  Counties differ within Texas so you should ask the Hays Texas court handling your ticket what payment methods are available and if you are eligible to attend a Hays Texas ticket dismissal course such as GetDefensive.com.

Hays Texas Driver Responsibility Program

A fine is not all that comes along with your newly issued citation.  The state of Texas also operates the Driver Responsibility Program ("DRP").  The DRP is a monitoring program designed to track your Texas driving record and identify problem drivers based on their traffic history.

The DRP uses a relatively straightforward formula for assessing points against your TX driver record.  First, safety belt violations and violations for speeding less than 10% over the posted speed limit results in no additional points on your driving record.  Otherwise, all traffic violations result in two points being added to your record.  If the violation also caused an accident, you will receive a third point.

These points will appear on your Texas driver record if you are issued a citation outside the state of Texas as well, based on the same formula, as other states will notify the Texas Department of Public Safety, which oversees the DRP.

If your violation is severe, such as for driving under the influence, driving without a valid license or violating state automobile insurance mandates, the Department of Public Safety (DPS)will also levy on your annual fines, known as Conviction Based Surcharges.  These fines are significant (reaching as high as $2,000) and are imposed not once, but annually for each year the offense remains on your record-- a maximum of three years.  While it may be convenient to drive without a Texas driver license or a cheap solution to avoid car insurance payments, it is simply not worth it to have to pay in excess of $5,000 over several years, in addition to the initial violation fines, court costs and likely the cost to have your Texas driving privileges reinstated.

Suspension of Texas Driving Privileges

The points you accumulate through the Texas Driver Responsibility Program add up quickly.  If you incur just six points in three years-- one traffic violation per year-- the Texas Department of Public Safety will suspend your Texas driving privileges.  You can also face suspension if you avoid tallying too many points but are labeled as a "habitual offender."  Hays Texas drivers who incur four violations in two years or 7 in four years are considered habitual offenders by the state of Texas and face suspension of their Texas driving privileges.  If you are a juvenile driver under 18 years of age, your driving privileges can be revoked for just two traffic violations in a single year.  The violations counting toward a habitual offender moniker, just like points accumulation, include all out of state offenses that would have qualified had they been issued in Hays Texas.

The cost of having your driving privileges reinstated can be hefty and will pile on top of the fines for your most recent violation as well as the costs of appearing in court to defend yourself.  It is in your best interest and the best interests of your wallet that you avoid accumulating traffic violations on your Texas driver record.

Hays Texas Defensive Driving Programs

Should you find yourself in any of the precarious situations above, a Hays Texas defensive driving program may be able to help you avoid the unfortunate consequences.  The Texas Education Agency allows Hays Texas drivers to attend a Hays Texas driver safety program, including the Hays Texas online defensive driving courses offered by Getdefensive.com, in order to have up to one traffic violation per year expunged from their Texas Department of Public Safety driving record.  In order to receive this benefit, however, you must first receive permission from the Hays Texas court handling your violation when you call in or appear in court.  This permission is not guaranteed, however, and will likely be based on the cleanliness of your Texas driving record to date, as well as the severity of your most recent violation.  Also, if you have taken ten defensive driving programs and are back for your eleventh, a Hays Texas court may feel that you need a different form of rehabilitation in order to improve your safe driving habits.

However, most often you will be given an opportunity to have the violation removed from your Texas driver record.  If you are given such an opportunity, a Hays Texas internet driver safety or Hays Texas internet driver improvement program will not only remove the violation from your record, but will also eliminate the points that would have attached to your record as a result of your guilty plea or conviction.  These benefits come in addition to the considerable costs you will avoid by not being labeled a habitual offender or having your Texas drivers license temporarily suspended.

Hays Texas Insurance Discounts

A Hays Texas driver has much to gain by keeping a clean driving record through participation in a Hays Texas online driver safety program such as those offered by Getdefensive.com, beyond simply avoiding a suspended license.  Online Hays Texas defensive driving programs teach valuable safe driving techniques and foster defensive driving habits that will help you avoid your next traffic violation.  Additionally, in the event you find yourself incurring a traffic violation in the future, a Hays Texas court is much more likely to offer you a chance to have that violation wiped when your Texas driver record is clean and you have shown yourself to be committed to safe driving by enrolling in a Hays Texas online defensive driving program like Getdefensive.comGetdefensive.com offers many forms of home-study Texas defensive driving courses, including Hays Texas online defensive driving, Hays Texas DVD video defensive driving and Hays Texas streaming video defensive driving which can be viewed on your home computer.

A clean Texas driving record also keep you eligible for up to a 10% insurance reduction.  Insurance providers base the premiums you pay on your Hays Texas driving experience and your history of traffic violation.  Texas law protects you as an insurance owner from having your rates raised each time you pay a traffic ticket.  However, Hays Texas insurance carriers are not entitled to cover you if you show yourself to be a habitually bad driver.  Also, after three citations you insurance carrier is allowed by law to cancel your coverage immediately.  If that happens, it is highly unlikely that your next carrier will offer you a low or moderate price.  Keeping your driving record clean and having the experience of completing a Hays Texas online defensive driving program will help you avoid costly hikes in your insurance coverage.

Hays Texas Mature Driver and Hays Texas Juvenile Driver Insurance Discounts

Hays Texas drivers over the age of 55 and juvenile drivers under the age of 18 have an added incentive to enroll in a Hays Texas online defensive driving program:  insurance discounts.  To promote safe driving, most auto insurers provide additional discounts to both older and younger Texas drivers.  If you are a driver under the age of 18 or a parents of a juvenile driver, or you are a mature driver of the age of 55, contact your auto insurance provider to find out if an online driver safety program will help you secure an insurance reduction even before any accident or traffic violation has occurred.  This active approach may not just result in lower premiums now, but help keep them low in the event of a future traffic citation.

Hays Texas Classroom Driver Safety Schools

Some people prefer learning in a traditional classroom setting to the ease of taking a Hays Texas defensive driving program from the comfort of their own home.  If you would like to participate in a driver safety program to help lower your  insurance costs, to remove a traffic violation from your Texas driving record or because you were ordered to do so by a Hays Texas court, you should ask the Hays Texas court overseeing your citation and they will be happy to provide you with a list of brick and mortar traffic schools  in and around Hays Texas when you call into discuss your citation.

BECOME A GETDEFENSIVE PARTNER & MAKE $$$!

Do you own a brick and mortar traffic school?

has your school ben losing customers daily?

Do you want to start offering an online traffic school course to get your customers back?

If you answered yes to all of those above questions then you must watch this short video. It will change your business

See How

Customer Reviews

This Texas online defensive driving course is very informational. A great refresher course. I believe all drivers should be required to take the course by Texas state law. It would help drastically in the region I live in. It's very clear most drivers don't understand the etiquette and laws of the road.

-"J. Drube"

Thanks guys for setting up this amazing web site. I had a great learning experience with my online defensive driving class, I will definitely recommend you guys to my friends.

-"J. Gomez"

Despite not looking forward to taking the Texas Online Defensive Driving Course I actually found it to be easy and quick. Thanks for making the process so easy. I am not so great with computers as I am from a different generation LOL but the whole process was very simple, which is more than I can say for other website programs I have used.

-"G. Salazar"

Read More

Frequently Asked Questions

What payment method does GetDefensive.com prefer me to use for taking the Hays Texas online defensive driving course/online traffic school course?
GetDefensive.com accepts both credit card payments and online check payments.  Payments should be made prior to your starting the Hays Texas online defensive driving course.


Do I need to do anything to get my certificate after I'm done with the GetDefensive.com Hays Texas internet defensive driving class or driver safety class?
Once you have passed the GetDefensive.com Hays Texas internet defensive driving class, your certificate of completion will be promptly sent out via regular mail.  However, if you are in a hurry to receive it, you may choose to have it delivered by FedEx.  Please note that GetDefensive.com is unable to send completion certificates by email or fax.

 

 

How secure is GetDefensive.com’s website? Is there a danger that my credit card information, etc. could be compromised?

Very secure! GetDefensive.com uses SSL encryption to protect your personal information. When you register to take the Hays Texas online defensive driving class or insurance reduction class, your personal information (credit card number, etc.) is fully-protected.

 

How badly is GetDefensive.com going to stick me for taking the Hays Texas online traffic school course or the Hays Texas DVD defensive driving course or the Hays Texas streaming video course or the Hays Texas online defensive driving course?

The minimum amount we are required to charge for our Hays Texas defensive driving course is $25.00, and that is our fee for the online traffic school course or the online defensive driving course. However, if you decide to take the Hays Texas DVD defensive driving course or the Hays Texas defensive driving streaming video course, the fee may be slightly higher. GetDefensive.com does not charge for the shipping of your completion certificate to you via regular U.S. mail.

After I register to take GetDefensive.com's Hays Texas defensive driving online course, how does it proceed?

GetDefensive.com's Hays Texas online defensive driving course may be taken on any computer with internet capability.  The course is divided into chapters, and you have the option of being able to stop as often as you'd like and then resume working from where you left off.

At the end of each chapter you will need to take a short quiz (all multiple-choice) which will help you get ready for the final exam at the end of the course.

Once you pass the online final exam, GetDefensive.com will send your Hays Texas certificate of completion using the shipping method you elect at the time you register to take the course.

Would my car insurance premium be reduced if I were to take GetDefensive.com's internet defensive driving class or internet insurance reduction class?
Generally, the answer is yes.  However, we always advise that you talk with your local Hays Texas insurance agent before taking GetDefensive.com's internet defensive driving or internet driver safety or internet insurance reduction course.  Many Hays Texas insurance carriers nevertheless do offer reductions on car insurance premiums to policyholders who take and pass a Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR)-approved defensive driving or driver safety class,  GetDefensive.com's internet course is TDLR-certified, and as a matter of fact, customers who successfully complete our Hays Texas internet defensive driving/driver safety/insurance reduction class for ticket dismissal actually receive a second copy of their completion certificate to give to their insurance agent.
Is it necessary to take the entire Hays Texas online defensive driving course/online driver safety course on the same computer, or can I do some of it on my home computer on some of it on a different computer at someone else's house?

You may certainly take GetDefensive.com’s Hays Texas online defensive driving course on more than one (1) computer. However, you do need to make certain that any computer you plan to use has the flash and browser features necessary to make GetDefensive.com’s website operate correctly. GetDefensive.com automatically checks any computer you log into to see if the required software is installed.

I work two jobs so my time is really tight. Do I have to take the entire Hays Texas online driver safety/defensive driving class GetDefensive.com offers all at once? I don’t think I can carve out that many hours in one day.

No, of course not!  GetDefensive.com’s Hays Texas online defensive driving class is designed with your busy schedule in mind. You may stop whenever you need to and then pick up from where you left off.

Subsequent to my completing the Hays Texas video traffic school course, or the Hays Texas streaming video course, or the Hays Texas online defensive driving course,  or the Hays Texas driver improvement course, will you send my certificate by Federal Express?

After you complete the Hays Texas video traffic school course, or the Hays Texas streaming video course, or the Hays Texas online defensive driving course,  or the Hays Texas driver improvement course, your certificate will be sent to you by regular U.S. Mail.

How can I take the Hays Texas online defensive driving/driver safety course which GetDefensive.com offers over the internet if I am unable to read?

In accordance with the ADA, GetDefensive.com offers a read-along option to assist our customers with reading disabilities. The read-along option includes having the online text spoken aloud to you by a pre- recorded voice while you follow the online text. GetDefensive.com’s Hays Texas online defensive driving/driver safety/ticket dismissal course includes animations, charts, interactive videos and graphics to break up the text and to more clearly illustrate the concepts.

I live in Hays Texas. I need to sign up to take a driver improvement class/defensive driving class because I got a ticket last month. I was looking at GetDefensive.com’s online driver improvement/defensive driving class. Is this an accredited driver improvement/defensive driving class in Hays Texas, meaning if I take and pass it, would the court throw out my ticket?

Definitely.  GetDefensive.com's online defensive driving class is totally-approved in every court in Hays Texas. Successfully completing GetDefensive.com’s online defensive driving course will get your ticket dismissed.

Can I take the GetDefensive.com Hays Texas defensive driving/driver safety online course to get a ticket dismissed more than once in the same year?

State law in Hays Texas prohibits defendants from taking a Hays Texas defensive driving course to have a ticket taken off their record more than once every twelve (12) months. If you are uncertain as to whether or not you are eligible to take the GetDefensive.com Hays Texas defensive driving online course at this time to get a ticket dismissed, we suggest you contact your local Hays Texas traffic school court to find out for sure.

What can I expect from the course quizzes? What are they for?

The quizzes which are given throughout the GetDefensive.com Hays Texas online defensive driving/driver safety/insurance reduction course are only to help you get ready for the final exam which you will take at the end of the course. The quizzes have no bearing on your final score/grade for the course.

Do I have the option of taking the Hays Texas driver improvement course on a computer using the internet in place of taking the Hays Texas driver improvement course in a standard classroom setting?

You certainly do! GetDefensive.com offers the entire Hays Texas driver improvement course online so there’s no need for you to take the Hays Texas driver improvement course in a classroom setting. 

If I've been given several traffic tickets, could I get all of them dismissed by taking GetDefensive.com's Hays Texas defensive driving online course or driver safety online course?
No, you cannot.  The Texas Education Agency (TEA) prohibits defendants from having more than one (1) ticket dismissed by taking a TEA-approved Hays Texas defensive driving/traffic school course.  If you have taken a defensive driving/traffic school course within the last 12 months or are unable to remember when you last took defensive driving/traffic school, you should order a copy of your Texas Driver Record or ask the Hays Texas court if you qualify to take defensive driving at this time.  If you do qualify, you may dismiss one (1) ticket by taking GetDefensive.com's online defensive driving course/online traffic school course, but you will not be able to dismiss multiple Hays Texas traffic tickets by taking this Hays Texas defensive driving/traffic school online course.
Does your staff need to authenticate my identity when I take the GetDefensive.com Hays Texas online defensive driving class/online ticket dismissal class and if so, what information will I need to provide?

GetDefensive.com will need to verify your identity when you take our Hays Texas online defensive driving course. We do this by pulling questions from your driver record on file with the Texas DPS as well as from your vehicle registration which is filed with the Texas DOT.

If you do not have both a driver record and a registered vehicle on file with the State of Texas, you will need to provide a signed and notarized Statement of Assurance. In addition, you will be asked personal questions you will need to answer as you work through the Hays Texas online defensive driving course.

Online defensive driving and online traffic school courses also offered in these counties:

Anderson County Donley County Kaufman County Reagan County
Andrews County Duval County Kendall County Real County
Angelina County Eastland County Kenedy County Red River County
Aransas County Ector County Kent County Reeves County
Archer County Edwards County Kerr County Refugio County
Armstrong County El Paso County Kimble County Roberts County
Atascosa County Ellis County King County Robertson County
Austin County Erath County Kinney County Rockwall County
Bailey County Falls County Kleberg County Runnels County
Bandera County Fannin County Knox County Rusk County
Bastrop County Fayette County La Salle County Sabine County
Baylor County Fisher County Lamar County San Augustine County
Bee County Floyd County Lamb County San Jacinto County
Bell County Foard County Lampasas County San Patricio County
Bexar County Fort Bend County Lavaca County San Saba County
Blanco County Franklin County Lee County Schleicher County
Borden County Freestone County Leon County Scurry County
Bosque County Frio County Liberty County Shackelford County
Bowie County Gaines County Limestone County Shelby County
Brazoria County Galveston County Lipscomb County Sherman County
Brazos County Garza County Live Oak County Smith County
Brewster County Gillespie County Llano County Somervell County
Briscoe County Glasscock County Loving County Starr County
Brooks County Goliad County Lubbock County Stephens County
Brown County Gonzales County Lynn County Sterling County
Burleson County Gray County Madison County Stonewall County
Burnet County Grayson County Marion County Sutton County
Caldwell County Gregg County Martin County Swisher County
Calhoun County Grimes County Mason County Tarrant County
Callahan County Guadalupe County Matagorda County Taylor County
Cameron County Hale County Maverick County Terrell County
Camp County Hall County McCulloch County Terry County
Carson County Hamilton County McLennan County Throckmorton County
Cass County Hansford County McMullen County Titus County
Castro County Hardeman County Medina County Tom Green County
Chambers County Hardin County Menard County Travis County
Cherokee County Harris County Midland County Trinity County
Childress County Harrison County Milam County Tyler County
Clay County Hartley County Mills County Upshur County
Cochran County Haskell County Mitchell County Upton County
Coke County Hays County Montague County Uvalde County
Coleman County Hemphill County Montgomery County Val Verde County
Collin County Henderson County Moore County Van Zandt County
Collingsworth County Hidalgo County Morris County Victoria County
Colorado County Hill County Motley County Walker County
Comal County Hockley County Municipal Judge City of Clyde County Waller County
Comanche County Hood County Nacogdoches County Ward County
Concho County Hopkins County Navarro County Washington County
Cooke County Houston County Newton County Webb County
Coryell County Howard County Nolan County Wharton County
Cottle County Hudspeth County Nueces County Wheeler County
Crane County Hunt County Ochiltree County Wichita County
Crockett County Hutchinson County Oldham County Wilbarger County
Crosby County Irion County Orange County Willacy County
Culberson County Jack County Palo Pinto County Williamson County
Dallam County Jackson County Panola County Wilson County
Dallas County Jasper County Parker County Winkler County
Dawson County Jeff Davis County Parmer County Wise County
De Witt County Jefferson County Pecos County Wood County
Deaf Smith County Jim Hogg County Polk County Yoakum County
Delta County Jim Wells County Potter County Young County
Denton County Johnson County Presidio County Zapata County
Dickens County Jones County Rains County Zavala County
Dimmit County Karnes County Randall County

GetDefensive.com is not affiliated with any of the following defensive driving schools: Safeway Driving School, Martinez Driving School, Best of Texas Defensive Driving, E & C Driving School, Texoma Driving School, Riverstone Driving School, Coaches' Driving School, Inc., Access Defensive Driving School.