Approved Smith Online Defensive Driving and Insurance Reduction Courses

  • Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR) Approved online defensive driving course
  • Smith County Ticket Dismissal and Insurance Reduction
  • $25 – lowest price in the State of Texas
  • Our 6-hour online driver safety course is a fun, interactive and easy way to dismiss a ticket and lower your insurance costs. It is fully approved by the TDLR for Smith County citation dismissal (TDLR Provider # CP021).
  • Once you complete this internet defensive driving course, we will ship your certificate of completion to you by regular US Mail free of charge. If you are in a hurry, you may also select any of our convenient expedited shipping methods through FedEx for an additional charge.
Enroll Now

Smith County Texas Defensive Driving Information

Smith Texas Traffic Violations

Without question, the best way to avoid the problems that come with a traffic ticket is simply to avoid violating the traffic laws.  Unfortunately, that is not always the situation we find ourselves in.  if you are pulled over in Smith Texas for violating a traffic law, you can expect to become the proud recipient of a traffic violation, courtesy of your Smith Texas law enforcement.

The citation you receive will have several pieces of important information on it.  First, it will provide you with a court date.  You will need this date in the event you wish to attend a Texas Education Agency (TEA) approved Smith Texas defensive driving course, dispute the ticket or if your violation is serious enough in nature that you are required to appear in court.  Also, if you are under 18, Texas law will usually require you to appear in court with your parents or legal guardian.

Second, the citation will provide you with contact information for the Smith Texas court handling your traffic violation.  No matter how you plan to handle your citation, you must call the Smith Texas court within ten days of being issued the citation, or risk heavier fines and penalties.  If you fail to call or show up in person to the Smith Texas court for long enough, a bench warrant will be put out for your arrest.  Do not let this happen.  Contact the Smith Texas court stated on your ticket immediately after being issued a citation.

When you contact the Smith Texas court, you will also find out how to pay your citation.  Counties differ within Texas so you should ask the Smith Texas court handling your ticket what payment methods are available and if you are eligible to attend a Smith Texas ticket dismissal course such as GetDefensive.com.

Smith Texas Driver Responsibility Program

A fine is not all that comes along with your newly issued citation.  The state of Texas also operates the Driver Responsibility Program ("DRP").  The DRP is a monitoring program designed to track your Texas driving record and identify problem drivers based on their traffic history.

The DRP uses a relatively straightforward formula for assessing points against your TX driver record.  First, safety belt violations and violations for speeding less than 10% over the posted speed limit results in no additional points on your driving record.  Otherwise, all traffic violations result in two points being added to your record.  If the violation also caused an accident, you will receive a third point.

These points will appear on your Texas driver record if you are issued a citation outside the state of Texas as well, based on the same formula, as other states will notify the Texas Department of Public Safety, which oversees the DRP.

If your violation is severe, such as for driving under the influence, driving without a valid license or violating state automobile insurance mandates, the Department of Public Safety (DPS)will also levy on your annual fines, known as Conviction Based Surcharges.  These fines are significant (reaching as high as $2,000) and are imposed not once, but annually for each year the offense remains on your record-- a maximum of three years.  While it may be convenient to drive without a Texas driver license or a cheap solution to avoid car insurance payments, it is simply not worth it to have to pay in excess of $5,000 over several years, in addition to the initial violation fines, court costs and likely the cost to have your Texas driving privileges reinstated.

Suspension of Texas Driving Privileges

The points you accumulate through the Texas Driver Responsibility Program add up quickly.  If you incur just six points in three years-- one traffic violation per year-- the Texas Department of Public Safety will suspend your Texas driving privileges.  You can also face suspension if you avoid tallying too many points but are labeled as a "habitual offender."  Smith Texas drivers who incur four violations in two years or 7 in four years are considered habitual offenders by the state of Texas and face suspension of their Texas driving privileges.  If you are a juvenile driver under 18 years of age, your driving privileges can be revoked for just two traffic violations in a single year.  The violations counting toward a habitual offender moniker, just like points accumulation, include all out of state offenses that would have qualified had they been issued in Smith Texas.

The cost of having your driving privileges reinstated can be hefty and will pile on top of the fines for your most recent violation as well as the costs of appearing in court to defend yourself.  It is in your best interest and the best interests of your wallet that you avoid accumulating traffic violations on your Texas driver record.

Smith Texas Defensive Driving Programs

Should you find yourself in any of the precarious situations above, a Smith Texas defensive driving program may be able to help you avoid the unfortunate consequences.  The Texas Education Agency allows Smith Texas drivers to attend a Smith Texas driver safety program, including the Smith Texas online defensive driving courses offered by Getdefensive.com, in order to have up to one traffic violation per year expunged from their Texas Department of Public Safety driving record.  In order to receive this benefit, however, you must first receive permission from the Smith Texas court handling your violation when you call in or appear in court.  This permission is not guaranteed, however, and will likely be based on the cleanliness of your Texas driving record to date, as well as the severity of your most recent violation.  Also, if you have taken ten defensive driving programs and are back for your eleventh, a Smith Texas court may feel that you need a different form of rehabilitation in order to improve your safe driving habits.

However, most often you will be given an opportunity to have the violation removed from your Texas driver record.  If you are given such an opportunity, a Smith Texas internet driver safety or Smith Texas internet driver improvement program will not only remove the violation from your record, but will also eliminate the points that would have attached to your record as a result of your guilty plea or conviction.  These benefits come in addition to the considerable costs you will avoid by not being labeled a habitual offender or having your Texas drivers license temporarily suspended.

Smith Texas Insurance Discounts

A Smith Texas driver has much to gain by keeping a clean driving record through participation in a Smith Texas online driver safety program such as those offered by Getdefensive.com, beyond simply avoiding a suspended license.  Online Smith Texas defensive driving programs teach valuable safe driving techniques and foster defensive driving habits that will help you avoid your next traffic violation.  Additionally, in the event you find yourself incurring a traffic violation in the future, a Smith Texas court is much more likely to offer you a chance to have that violation wiped when your Texas driver record is clean and you have shown yourself to be committed to safe driving by enrolling in a Smith Texas online defensive driving program like Getdefensive.comGetdefensive.com offers many forms of home-study Texas defensive driving courses, including Smith Texas online defensive driving, Smith Texas DVD video defensive driving and Smith Texas streaming video defensive driving which can be viewed on your home computer.

A clean Texas driving record also keep you eligible for up to a 10% insurance reduction.  Insurance providers base the premiums you pay on your Smith Texas driving experience and your history of traffic violation.  Texas law protects you as an insurance owner from having your rates raised each time you pay a traffic ticket.  However, Smith Texas insurance carriers are not entitled to cover you if you show yourself to be a habitually bad driver.  Also, after three citations you insurance carrier is allowed by law to cancel your coverage immediately.  If that happens, it is highly unlikely that your next carrier will offer you a low or moderate price.  Keeping your driving record clean and having the experience of completing a Smith Texas online defensive driving program will help you avoid costly hikes in your insurance coverage.

Smith Texas Mature Driver and Smith Texas Juvenile Driver Insurance Discounts

Smith Texas drivers over the age of 55 and juvenile drivers under the age of 18 have an added incentive to enroll in a Smith Texas online defensive driving program:  insurance discounts.  To promote safe driving, most auto insurers provide additional discounts to both older and younger Texas drivers.  If you are a driver under the age of 18 or a parents of a juvenile driver, or you are a mature driver of the age of 55, contact your auto insurance provider to find out if an online driver safety program will help you secure an insurance reduction even before any accident or traffic violation has occurred.  This active approach may not just result in lower premiums now, but help keep them low in the event of a future traffic citation.

Smith Texas Classroom Driver Safety Schools

Some people prefer learning in a traditional classroom setting to the ease of taking a Smith Texas defensive driving program from the comfort of their own home.  If you would like to participate in a driver safety program to help lower your  insurance costs, to remove a traffic violation from your Texas driving record or because you were ordered to do so by a Smith Texas court, you should ask the Smith Texas court overseeing your citation and they will be happy to provide you with a list of brick and mortar traffic schools  in and around Smith Texas when you call into discuss your citation.

BECOME A GETDEFENSIVE PARTNER & MAKE $$$!

Do you own a brick and mortar traffic school?

has your school ben losing customers daily?

Do you want to start offering an online traffic school course to get your customers back?

If you answered yes to all of those above questions then you must watch this short video. It will change your business

See How

Customer Reviews

This Texas online defensive driving course is very informational. A great refresher course. I believe all drivers should be required to take the course by Texas state law. It would help drastically in the region I live in. It's very clear most drivers don't understand the etiquette and laws of the road.

-"J. Drube"

Thanks guys for setting up this amazing web site. I had a great learning experience with my online defensive driving class, I will definitely recommend you guys to my friends.

-"J. Gomez"

Despite not looking forward to taking the Texas Online Defensive Driving Course I actually found it to be easy and quick. Thanks for making the process so easy. I am not so great with computers as I am from a different generation LOL but the whole process was very simple, which is more than I can say for other website programs I have used.

-"G. Salazar"

Read More

Frequently Asked Questions

What method do you want me to use to pay for taking the GetDefensive.com Smith Texas internet defensive driving school course/internet driver improvement school course?

You can pay for taking GetDefensive.com’s Smith Texas internet defensive driving course/internet driver improvement course with a credit card or an online check. Payments need to be made before starting the Smith Texas defensive driving course.

Once I’m done with the GetDefensive.com Smith Texas defensive driving/ticket dismissal online course, how will you get my certificate to me?
After you have completed GetDefensive.com's Smith Texas online defensive driving/driver safety/ticket dismissal course, we will send your certificate of completion to you via regular mail.  However, if your court deadline is close and you need to receive it quickly, we suggest you use one of our expedited shipping options and have your certificate shipped via FedEx (Federal Express).  Unfortunately, GetDefensive.com is unable to send completion certificates via fax or email.
I know I can pay with my credit card, but is it safe for me to give it over the internet on your website?
Yes. GetDefensive.com takes your privacy very seriously, which is why we use SSL encryption to protect the personal information and identity of our customers. When you sign up to take GetDefensive.com’s Smith Texas online defensive driving course or online traffic school course or online driver safety course, or online insurance reduction course, you can be assured that your credit card information and any other personal data will be protected.
How much does the GetDefensive.com Smith Texas online defensive driving course cost?

GetDefensive.com offers Smith Texas online defensive driving courses and Smith Texas online insurance reduction courses. The price of our Smith Texas online traffic school course and our Smith Texas online defensive driving course is $25.00.  The price may also vary by format, and $25.00 is the price of our internet Smith Texas traffic school only.  If you choose the Smith Texas defensive driving DVD or the Smith Texas defensive driving streaming video the price may be slightly higher.   $25.00 is the minimum allowable price under Smith Texas State Law, and this includes the shipping of your certificate of completion via regular US Mail.

Exactly how does GetDefensive.com’s Smith Texas defensive driving online class/insurance reduction online class work?

There are two (2) kinds of Smith Texas defensive driving online courses offered by GetDefensive.com, one for getting a ticket dismissed, and the other is for getting auto insurance premiums reduced. Both types of courses may be taken on any computer provided it has internet access. You can take the course all at once or in portions, whichever your prefer. The Smith Texas defensive driving online course is divided into chapters, with each chapter ending with a short multiple-choice quiz which will help prepare you for the final exam. Once you pass the final exam, we will issue you a completion certificate, which is sent to you via regular mail or whichever shipping method you choose at the time you register for the course.

Would taking GetDefensive.com's online defensive driving class or online insurance reduction class qualify me for an auto insurance discount?
It depends on which insurance company you are with.  However, many insurance carriers in Smith Texas do offer up to a 10% auto insurance discount to policyholders who pass a Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR)-certified Smith Texas defensive driving course or driver safety course or insurance reduction course.  We recommend that you check with your Smith Texas insurance agent to see what kind of discount you would receive for taking GetDefensive.com's online course.  Also, any customer who successfully completes GetDefensive.com's online defensive driving course or online insurance reduction course for ticket dismissal will receive two (2) copies of their completion certificate--one to give to the court and one to give to their insurance agent.
Is the computer I begin taking the GetDefensive.com Smith Texas defensive driving course on the only computer I can use for the entire course?

No.  If you take the GetDefensive.com Smith Texas defensive driving course in increments (and not all at once), you have the freedom to take different parts of the course on different computers.  Our website will save your information so you can pick up right from where you left off.

Please be sure that any computer you intend to use is equipped with the necessary flash and browser features.  GetDefensive.com will automatically run a check on any computer you log onto for the first time to verify the required software is installed on it.

Given my schedule, taking the Smith Texas driver improvement online class/defensive driving online class all at once may be impossible. Can I take the class in intermittent intervals over a several-day period?

Absolutely! One of the benefits of taking GetDefensive.com's Smith Texas defensive driving class is the flexibility it allows you to complete the course without disrupting your busy schedule.

After I pass the Smith Texas video traffic school course or the Smith Texas online defensive driving course, or the Smith Texas streaming defensive driving video course or the or the Smith Texas driver improvement school course, how do I get my diploma?

When you have finished the Smith Texas video traffic school course or the Smith Texas online defensive driving course, or the Smith Texas streaming defensive driving video course or the or the Smith Texas driver improvement school course, GetDefensive.com will mail your certificate of completion to your home or business address.

In the event someone who needs to take the Smith Texas internet defensive driving class has trouble with reading a lot of material at once, are they still able to take GetDefensive.com’s online class?

GetDefensive.com offers a read-along option to assist our customers with reading disabilities, which allows having the online text spoken aloud to you by a pre-recorded voice while you follow the online text on your computer screen. Additionally, GetDefensive.com’s Smith Texas online defensive driving/driver safety/ticket dismissal course includes animations, charts, interactive videos and graphics to break up the text and to more clearly illustrate the concepts.

 

I got a stupid ticket recently and want it wiped off my record. The court said they’ll dismiss the ticket if I take an officially-recognized defensive driving course. However, is GetDefensive.com’s online defensive driving course acceptable in Smith Texas ? I have to make sure that GetDefensive.com offers a legitimate defensive driving course.

Yes, GetDefensive.com’s online defensive driving course is fully-accredited in the State of Smith Texas for ticket dismissal and whichever Smith Texas court you are dealing with will dismiss your ticket once you provide them with your GetDefensive.com completion certificate you’ll receive from GetDefensive.com after you have passed the GetDefensive.com online defensive driving course.

I attended a Smith Texas defensive driving course earlier this year. Is it okay if I take GetDefensive.com’s Smith Texas defensive driving again now?

Please be aware that Smith Texas State Law limits drivers to one (1) ticket dismissal every twelve (12) months. Please contact your Smith Texas traffic court to see if you are eligible to take GetDefensive.com’s online defensive driving course at this time.

Do I have to pass every one of GetDefensive.com’s Smith Texas defensive driving online course quizzes in order to pass the entire course?

No. The quizzes which are given at the end of each chapter/section of the GetDefensive.com Smith Texas defensive driving/insurance reduction online course are only to help you prepare for the final exam which you will take at the end of the course. Your performance on the quizzes have no impact on your overall grade/score for the course.

Would taking the Smith Texas online defensive driving course be the same as taking the Smith Texas defensive driving course in a classroom or meeting hall?

You bet! GetDefensive.com offers the whole Smith Texas online defensive driving course online so you don’t have to go out and sit through a long, mundane class.

Would I be able to get more than one (1) ticket dismissed by taking the GetDefensive.com Smith Texas online defensive driving course or online driver safety course?
No.  The State of Smith Texas only allows you one (1) ticket dismissal within a 12-month period by successfully completing a Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR)-approved defensive driving/driver safety course.  If you have taken a TDLR-certified Smith Texas defensive driving course within the past year or are uncertain as to exactly when you last took a Smith Texas driver safety course, we suggest you order a copy of your Texas Driver Record or ask the Smith Texas court if you are currently eligible to take a Smith Texas defensive driving course.  If you are eligible, you may register to take GetDefensive.com's Smith Texas defensive driving/driver safety online course to have one (1) ticket dismissed.  However, you will not be able to have any more than one (1) ticket removed from your driving record by taking GetDefensive.com's defensive driving/driver safety online course.
Do I have to prove I am who I am when I take the GetDefensive.com Smith Texas defensive driving course?

Yes, you do. GetDefensive.com will need to verify who you are either by retrieving questions from your driver record on file with the Texas Department of Public Safety.

If you do not have both a Texas Driver Record and a Texas registered automobile, you will need to submit a signed and notarized Statement of Assurance. You will be asked personal questions throughout the Smith Texas online defensive driving course to ensure that you are actually the authorized person taking the course.

Online defensive driving and online traffic school courses also offered in these counties:

Anderson County Donley County Kaufman County Reagan County
Andrews County Duval County Kendall County Real County
Angelina County Eastland County Kenedy County Red River County
Aransas County Ector County Kent County Reeves County
Archer County Edwards County Kerr County Refugio County
Armstrong County El Paso County Kimble County Roberts County
Atascosa County Ellis County King County Robertson County
Austin County Erath County Kinney County Rockwall County
Bailey County Falls County Kleberg County Runnels County
Bandera County Fannin County Knox County Rusk County
Bastrop County Fayette County La Salle County Sabine County
Baylor County Fisher County Lamar County San Augustine County
Bee County Floyd County Lamb County San Jacinto County
Bell County Foard County Lampasas County San Patricio County
Bexar County Fort Bend County Lavaca County San Saba County
Blanco County Franklin County Lee County Schleicher County
Borden County Freestone County Leon County Scurry County
Bosque County Frio County Liberty County Shackelford County
Bowie County Gaines County Limestone County Shelby County
Brazoria County Galveston County Lipscomb County Sherman County
Brazos County Garza County Live Oak County Smith County
Brewster County Gillespie County Llano County Somervell County
Briscoe County Glasscock County Loving County Starr County
Brooks County Goliad County Lubbock County Stephens County
Brown County Gonzales County Lynn County Sterling County
Burleson County Gray County Madison County Stonewall County
Burnet County Grayson County Marion County Sutton County
Caldwell County Gregg County Martin County Swisher County
Calhoun County Grimes County Mason County Tarrant County
Callahan County Guadalupe County Matagorda County Taylor County
Cameron County Hale County Maverick County Terrell County
Camp County Hall County McCulloch County Terry County
Carson County Hamilton County McLennan County Throckmorton County
Cass County Hansford County McMullen County Titus County
Castro County Hardeman County Medina County Tom Green County
Chambers County Hardin County Menard County Travis County
Cherokee County Harris County Midland County Trinity County
Childress County Harrison County Milam County Tyler County
Clay County Hartley County Mills County Upshur County
Cochran County Haskell County Mitchell County Upton County
Coke County Hays County Montague County Uvalde County
Coleman County Hemphill County Montgomery County Val Verde County
Collin County Henderson County Moore County Van Zandt County
Collingsworth County Hidalgo County Morris County Victoria County
Colorado County Hill County Motley County Walker County
Comal County Hockley County Municipal Judge City of Clyde County Waller County
Comanche County Hood County Nacogdoches County Ward County
Concho County Hopkins County Navarro County Washington County
Cooke County Houston County Newton County Webb County
Coryell County Howard County Nolan County Wharton County
Cottle County Hudspeth County Nueces County Wheeler County
Crane County Hunt County Ochiltree County Wichita County
Crockett County Hutchinson County Oldham County Wilbarger County
Crosby County Irion County Orange County Willacy County
Culberson County Jack County Palo Pinto County Williamson County
Dallam County Jackson County Panola County Wilson County
Dallas County Jasper County Parker County Winkler County
Dawson County Jeff Davis County Parmer County Wise County
De Witt County Jefferson County Pecos County Wood County
Deaf Smith County Jim Hogg County Polk County Yoakum County
Delta County Jim Wells County Potter County Young County
Denton County Johnson County Presidio County Zapata County
Dickens County Jones County Rains County Zavala County
Dimmit County Karnes County Randall County

GetDefensive.com is not affiliated with any of the following defensive driving schools: Faraji's Defensive Driving, School of Defensive Driving, Adelante Defensive Driving, AAA Security Driving Academy, Angels Defensive Driving, Broussard Enterprise Driving School, Rolando Ramon Driving Training Institute, CMC Defensive Driving.