Approved Travis Online Defensive Driving and Insurance Reduction Courses

  • Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR) Approved online defensive driving course
  • Travis County Ticket Dismissal and Insurance Reduction
  • $25 – lowest price in the State of Texas
  • Our 6-hour online driver safety course is a fun, interactive and easy way to dismiss a ticket and lower your insurance costs. It is fully approved by the TDLR for Travis County citation dismissal (TDLR Provider # CP021).
  • Once you complete this internet defensive driving course, we will ship your certificate of completion to you by regular US Mail free of charge. If you are in a hurry, you may also select any of our convenient expedited shipping methods through FedEx for an additional charge.
Enroll Now

Travis County Texas Defensive Driving Information

Travis Texas Traffic Violations

Without question, the best way to avoid the problems that come with a traffic ticket is simply to avoid violating the traffic laws.  Unfortunately, that is not always the situation we find ourselves in.  if you are pulled over in Travis Texas for violating a traffic law, you can expect to become the proud recipient of a traffic violation, courtesy of your Travis Texas law enforcement.

The citation you receive will have several pieces of important information on it.  First, it will provide you with a court date.  You will need this date in the event you wish to attend a Texas Education Agency (TEA) approved Travis Texas defensive driving course, dispute the ticket or if your violation is serious enough in nature that you are required to appear in court.  Also, if you are under 18, Texas law will usually require you to appear in court with your parents or legal guardian.

Second, the citation will provide you with contact information for the Travis Texas court handling your traffic violation.  No matter how you plan to handle your citation, you must call the Travis Texas court within ten days of being issued the citation, or risk heavier fines and penalties.  If you fail to call or show up in person to the Travis Texas court for long enough, a bench warrant will be put out for your arrest.  Do not let this happen.  Contact the Travis Texas court stated on your ticket immediately after being issued a citation.

When you contact the Travis Texas court, you will also find out how to pay your citation.  Counties differ within Texas so you should ask the Travis Texas court handling your ticket what payment methods are available and if you are eligible to attend a Travis Texas ticket dismissal course such as GetDefensive.com.

Travis Texas Driver Responsibility Program

A fine is not all that comes along with your newly issued citation.  The state of Texas also operates the Driver Responsibility Program ("DRP").  The DRP is a monitoring program designed to track your Texas driving record and identify problem drivers based on their traffic history.

The DRP uses a relatively straightforward formula for assessing points against your TX driver record.  First, safety belt violations and violations for speeding less than 10% over the posted speed limit results in no additional points on your driving record.  Otherwise, all traffic violations result in two points being added to your record.  If the violation also caused an accident, you will receive a third point.

These points will appear on your Texas driver record if you are issued a citation outside the state of Texas as well, based on the same formula, as other states will notify the Texas Department of Public Safety, which oversees the DRP.

If your violation is severe, such as for driving under the influence, driving without a valid license or violating state automobile insurance mandates, the Department of Public Safety (DPS)will also levy on your annual fines, known as Conviction Based Surcharges.  These fines are significant (reaching as high as $2,000) and are imposed not once, but annually for each year the offense remains on your record-- a maximum of three years.  While it may be convenient to drive without a Texas driver license or a cheap solution to avoid car insurance payments, it is simply not worth it to have to pay in excess of $5,000 over several years, in addition to the initial violation fines, court costs and likely the cost to have your Texas driving privileges reinstated.

Suspension of Texas Driving Privileges

The points you accumulate through the Texas Driver Responsibility Program add up quickly.  If you incur just six points in three years-- one traffic violation per year-- the Texas Department of Public Safety will suspend your Texas driving privileges.  You can also face suspension if you avoid tallying too many points but are labeled as a "habitual offender."  Travis Texas drivers who incur four violations in two years or 7 in four years are considered habitual offenders by the state of Texas and face suspension of their Texas driving privileges.  If you are a juvenile driver under 18 years of age, your driving privileges can be revoked for just two traffic violations in a single year.  The violations counting toward a habitual offender moniker, just like points accumulation, include all out of state offenses that would have qualified had they been issued in Travis Texas.

The cost of having your driving privileges reinstated can be hefty and will pile on top of the fines for your most recent violation as well as the costs of appearing in court to defend yourself.  It is in your best interest and the best interests of your wallet that you avoid accumulating traffic violations on your Texas driver record.

Travis Texas Defensive Driving Programs

Should you find yourself in any of the precarious situations above, a Travis Texas defensive driving program may be able to help you avoid the unfortunate consequences.  The Texas Education Agency allows Travis Texas drivers to attend a Travis Texas driver safety program, including the Travis Texas online defensive driving courses offered by Getdefensive.com, in order to have up to one traffic violation per year expunged from their Texas Department of Public Safety driving record.  In order to receive this benefit, however, you must first receive permission from the Travis Texas court handling your violation when you call in or appear in court.  This permission is not guaranteed, however, and will likely be based on the cleanliness of your Texas driving record to date, as well as the severity of your most recent violation.  Also, if you have taken ten defensive driving programs and are back for your eleventh, a Travis Texas court may feel that you need a different form of rehabilitation in order to improve your safe driving habits.

However, most often you will be given an opportunity to have the violation removed from your Texas driver record.  If you are given such an opportunity, a Travis Texas internet driver safety or Travis Texas internet driver improvement program will not only remove the violation from your record, but will also eliminate the points that would have attached to your record as a result of your guilty plea or conviction.  These benefits come in addition to the considerable costs you will avoid by not being labeled a habitual offender or having your Texas drivers license temporarily suspended.

Travis Texas Insurance Discounts

A Travis Texas driver has much to gain by keeping a clean driving record through participation in a Travis Texas online driver safety program such as those offered by Getdefensive.com, beyond simply avoiding a suspended license.  Online Travis Texas defensive driving programs teach valuable safe driving techniques and foster defensive driving habits that will help you avoid your next traffic violation.  Additionally, in the event you find yourself incurring a traffic violation in the future, a Travis Texas court is much more likely to offer you a chance to have that violation wiped when your Texas driver record is clean and you have shown yourself to be committed to safe driving by enrolling in a Travis Texas online defensive driving program like Getdefensive.comGetdefensive.com offers many forms of home-study Texas defensive driving courses, including Travis Texas online defensive driving, Travis Texas DVD video defensive driving and Travis Texas streaming video defensive driving which can be viewed on your home computer.

A clean Texas driving record also keep you eligible for up to a 10% insurance reduction.  Insurance providers base the premiums you pay on your Travis Texas driving experience and your history of traffic violation.  Texas law protects you as an insurance owner from having your rates raised each time you pay a traffic ticket.  However, Travis Texas insurance carriers are not entitled to cover you if you show yourself to be a habitually bad driver.  Also, after three citations you insurance carrier is allowed by law to cancel your coverage immediately.  If that happens, it is highly unlikely that your next carrier will offer you a low or moderate price.  Keeping your driving record clean and having the experience of completing a Travis Texas online defensive driving program will help you avoid costly hikes in your insurance coverage.

Travis Texas Mature Driver and Travis Texas Juvenile Driver Insurance Discounts

Travis Texas drivers over the age of 55 and juvenile drivers under the age of 18 have an added incentive to enroll in a Travis Texas online defensive driving program:  insurance discounts.  To promote safe driving, most auto insurers provide additional discounts to both older and younger Texas drivers.  If you are a driver under the age of 18 or a parents of a juvenile driver, or you are a mature driver of the age of 55, contact your auto insurance provider to find out if an online driver safety program will help you secure an insurance reduction even before any accident or traffic violation has occurred.  This active approach may not just result in lower premiums now, but help keep them low in the event of a future traffic citation.

Travis Texas Classroom Driver Safety Schools

Some people prefer learning in a traditional classroom setting to the ease of taking a Travis Texas defensive driving program from the comfort of their own home.  If you would like to participate in a driver safety program to help lower your  insurance costs, to remove a traffic violation from your Texas driving record or because you were ordered to do so by a Travis Texas court, you should ask the Travis Texas court overseeing your citation and they will be happy to provide you with a list of brick and mortar traffic schools  in and around Travis Texas when you call into discuss your citation.

BECOME A GETDEFENSIVE PARTNER & MAKE $$$!

Do you own a brick and mortar traffic school?

has your school ben losing customers daily?

Do you want to start offering an online traffic school course to get your customers back?

If you answered yes to all of those above questions then you must watch this short video. It will change your business

See How

Customer Reviews

This Texas online defensive driving course is very informational. A great refresher course. I believe all drivers should be required to take the course by Texas state law. It would help drastically in the region I live in. It's very clear most drivers don't understand the etiquette and laws of the road.

-"J. Drube"

Thanks guys for setting up this amazing web site. I had a great learning experience with my online defensive driving class, I will definitely recommend you guys to my friends.

-"J. Gomez"

Despite not looking forward to taking the Texas Online Defensive Driving Course I actually found it to be easy and quick. Thanks for making the process so easy. I am not so great with computers as I am from a different generation LOL but the whole process was very simple, which is more than I can say for other website programs I have used.

-"G. Salazar"

Read More

Frequently Asked Questions

What method of payment does your company prefer for taking your Travis Texas online defensive driving class/online driver safety class?
The two (2) methods of payment that GetDefensive.com accepts for its Travis Texas online defensive driving class/online driver safety class are credit cards and online checks.  Payments should be made in full prior to starting the online class.
How do I get my diploma after I finish GetDefensive.com's Travis Texas online defensive driving class?
After you have passed the GetDefensive.com Travis Texas online driver safety or defensive driving course, GetDefensive.com will send your certificate of completion to you via regular U.S. mail.  If you need to receive it quickly, you may opt to have it sent via FedEx.  Unfortunately, GetDefensive.com is not able to send completion certificates via fax or e-mail.
How does GetDefensive.com protect confidential information such as credit card numbers, etc. that customers enter into its website?

Protecting our customers’ personal information is of utmost importance to GetDefensive.com, which is why we safeguard all credit card information, addresses, and other private information our customers provide to us with SSL encryption. When you take GetDefensive.com’s Travis Texas internet defensive driving/driver safety/insurance reduction course, you don’t have to worry about your personal information or identity being compromised in any way.

How much will I have to pay for taking the Travis Texas online defensive driving course or the Travis Texas video defensive driving course or the Travis Texas streaming video course or the Travis Texas online traffic school course?

The cost of the Travis Texas online defensive driving course and the Travis Texas online traffic school course is $25.00, which is the minimum amount we are required to charge under Travis Texas state law. The Travis Texas DVD defensive driving course and the Travis Texas defensive driving streaming video course may cost a little more.

How do I take the GetDefensive.com Travis Texas online defensive driving course/driver safety course?

The GetDefensive.com Travis Texas defensive driving course is offered online, so you will need access to a computer which is hooked up to the internet.  The GetDefensive.com Travis Texas defensive driving online course is divided into chapters, with a short multiple-choice quiz at the end of each chapter.  These quizzes are designed to help prepare you for the final exam which you will take at the end of the course.

While working through the Travis Texas defensive driving online course, you can stop or take breaks as much as you want, and then pick up from where you left off.

When you've completed all of the chapters in the GetDefensive.com Travis Texas defensive driving online course, you will need to take the final exam.  Once you pass it, we will issue your completion certificate to you and mail it to the address you provided at registration (expedited shipping is available, please select your preference when you register to take website? Travis Texas defensive driving online course.

Would I be able to get a discount on my auto insurance if I take GetDefensive.com's Travis Texas defensive driving class online?
Normally, yes.  We do recommend that you check with your local insurance representative in Travis Texas, however we can tell you that many Travis Texas insurance carriers do offer discounts of up to 10% on auto insurance to policyholders who successfully complete a Travis Texas defensive driving/driver safety course which is approved by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR).  In addition, any GetDefensive.com customer who takes and passes our Travis Texas defensive driving/driver safety online class for the purpose of having a traffic ticket removed from their driving record will receive an extra copy of his or her completion certificate to provide to his or her insurance representative.
Does the entire GetDefensive.com Travis Texas defensive driving online course/driver safety course have to be taken on the same computer? Or can I do some at home and some at the library or at a friend’s house?

GetDefensive.com’s system allows you to take its Travis Texas defensive driving online course from as many computers as you’d like. Whichever computer you use, however, must have the necessary features so that GetDefensive.com’s page will be displayed correctly. GetDefensive.com’s system will automatically check any computer you log in on to make sure it has the required software to operate properly.

Since I don’t need to complete the GetDefensive.com Travis Texas online defensive driving course/online driver improvement course for several weeks, can I do just a little of it each day until I’m finished instead of taking the entire course all at once?

Absolutely!  There’s no law that says you must complete the entire Travis Texas online defensive driving course GetDefensive.com offers all at once.  You’re allowed to start and stop as much as you need to or want to until you have finished the course.  You can’t get that kind of flexibility if you take Travis Texas online defensive driving in a classroom!

Once I pass the Travis Texas video traffic school course or the Travis Texas driver improvement course or the Travis Texas streaming video course or the Travis Texas online defensive driving course, how long will it take your office to get my diploma to me?

After you pass the Travis Texas video traffic school course or the Travis Texas driver improvement course or the Travis Texas streaming video course or the Travis Texas online defensive driving course, GetDefensive.com will send your completion certificate to your home or business address via regular mail, which normally takes 3-5 days. If you want it sooner, you can request to have it shipped to you via FedEx (additional charges would apply).

Are students who are unable to read large amounts of text given any sort of accommodation when they take GetDefensive.com’s Travis Texas defensive driving course online?

Yes. GetDefensive.com’s offers "read-along", which provides our customers with a pre-recorded narrator’s voice who reads the text out loud while you follow along with the online text. This feature is fully compliant with the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA). GetDefensive.com’s online defensive driving/driver safety/ticket dismissal course includes numerous multi-media features, so it won’t only be reading text. These features include animations, interactive videos, as well as graphics.

Can you tell me if GetDefensive.com’s driver improvement/defensive driving online class is an officially recognized defensive driving course by the State of Travis Texas ?

Yes! GetDefensive.com’s defensive driving online class is accredited in Travis Texas for the purpose of ticket dismissal. If you plan to take GetDefensive.com’s defensive driving online class for insurance reduction purposes, we recommend that you check with your Travis Texas insurance agent first.

Does Travis Texas place a limit on the number of times I can take GetDefensive.com’s Travis Texas online defensive driving/safe driver course to have tickets dismissed?

According to Travis Texas law, you are eligible to have only one (1) ticket dismissed every twelve (12) months. If you are uncertain as to whether your most recent ticket can be dismissed, we recommend that you contact the Travis Texas traffic court to find out if you are eligible to take the GetDefensive.com Travis Texas defensive driving online course at this time.

What exactly is covered on the quizzes which are given throughout the Travis Texas online defensive driving course?

The quizzes given at the end of each chapter/section cover only the material covered in that chapter/section. They are designed to help prepare you for the final exam you will need to take at the end of the course. Your performance on the quizzes have no bearing in your overall grade for the GetDefensive.com Travis Texas internet defensive driving/driver safety/insurance reduction course.

If I take the GetDefensive.com Travis Texas online driver improvement course, will this replace my having to sit through a traditional Travis Texas classroom driver improvement course?

Absolutely! GetDefensive.com offers the entire Travis Texas driver improvement course online, so there’s no need for you to sit through a long, dreaded Travis Texas driver improvement class.

Is there a restriction in Travis Texas on how many tickets/citations I can have dismissed by taking your online defensive driving course or online ticket dismissal course?

Yes. The law in Travis Texas only permits you to have one (1) ticket dismissed by passing a Texas Education Agency (T.E.A.)-approved defensive driving/driver safety/ticket dismissal course in a 12-month timeframe. GetDefensive.com’s online defensive driving course is certified by the T.E.A.. so you would be able to get a single ticket dismissed by taking our online course. However, if you have taken a defensive driving course within the last 12 months or are uncertain when and if you last took defensive driving, you should order a copy of your Texas Driver Record and/or ask the Travis Texas traffic court to see if you are eligible to take our defensive driving course for ticket dismissal at this time.

Will GetDefensive.com need to check my identity when I take the Travis Texas online defensive driving/driver improvement course?

GetDefensive.com will need to verify your identity if you choose to take the Travis Texas online defensive driving course we offer. There are one (1) of two (2) ways in which we do this: The first is by obtaining questions from your driver record on file with the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) as well as from your vehicle registration which is filed with the Texas Department of Transportation (DOT).

If you do not have both a driver record and a registered vehicle on file with the State of Texas, you will need to provide a signed and notarized Statement of Assurance. In addition, you will be asked personal questions as you work through the Travis Texas online defensive driving course.

Online defensive driving and online traffic school courses also offered in these counties:

Anderson County Donley County Kaufman County Reagan County
Andrews County Duval County Kendall County Real County
Angelina County Eastland County Kenedy County Red River County
Aransas County Ector County Kent County Reeves County
Archer County Edwards County Kerr County Refugio County
Armstrong County El Paso County Kimble County Roberts County
Atascosa County Ellis County King County Robertson County
Austin County Erath County Kinney County Rockwall County
Bailey County Falls County Kleberg County Runnels County
Bandera County Fannin County Knox County Rusk County
Bastrop County Fayette County La Salle County Sabine County
Baylor County Fisher County Lamar County San Augustine County
Bee County Floyd County Lamb County San Jacinto County
Bell County Foard County Lampasas County San Patricio County
Bexar County Fort Bend County Lavaca County San Saba County
Blanco County Franklin County Lee County Schleicher County
Borden County Freestone County Leon County Scurry County
Bosque County Frio County Liberty County Shackelford County
Bowie County Gaines County Limestone County Shelby County
Brazoria County Galveston County Lipscomb County Sherman County
Brazos County Garza County Live Oak County Smith County
Brewster County Gillespie County Llano County Somervell County
Briscoe County Glasscock County Loving County Starr County
Brooks County Goliad County Lubbock County Stephens County
Brown County Gonzales County Lynn County Sterling County
Burleson County Gray County Madison County Stonewall County
Burnet County Grayson County Marion County Sutton County
Caldwell County Gregg County Martin County Swisher County
Calhoun County Grimes County Mason County Tarrant County
Callahan County Guadalupe County Matagorda County Taylor County
Cameron County Hale County Maverick County Terrell County
Camp County Hall County McCulloch County Terry County
Carson County Hamilton County McLennan County Throckmorton County
Cass County Hansford County McMullen County Titus County
Castro County Hardeman County Medina County Tom Green County
Chambers County Hardin County Menard County Travis County
Cherokee County Harris County Midland County Trinity County
Childress County Harrison County Milam County Tyler County
Clay County Hartley County Mills County Upshur County
Cochran County Haskell County Mitchell County Upton County
Coke County Hays County Montague County Uvalde County
Coleman County Hemphill County Montgomery County Val Verde County
Collin County Henderson County Moore County Van Zandt County
Collingsworth County Hidalgo County Morris County Victoria County
Colorado County Hill County Motley County Walker County
Comal County Hockley County Municipal Judge City of Clyde County Waller County
Comanche County Hood County Nacogdoches County Ward County
Concho County Hopkins County Navarro County Washington County
Cooke County Houston County Newton County Webb County
Coryell County Howard County Nolan County Wharton County
Cottle County Hudspeth County Nueces County Wheeler County
Crane County Hunt County Ochiltree County Wichita County
Crockett County Hutchinson County Oldham County Wilbarger County
Crosby County Irion County Orange County Willacy County
Culberson County Jack County Palo Pinto County Williamson County
Dallam County Jackson County Panola County Wilson County
Dallas County Jasper County Parker County Winkler County
Dawson County Jeff Davis County Parmer County Wise County
De Witt County Jefferson County Pecos County Wood County
Deaf Smith County Jim Hogg County Polk County Yoakum County
Delta County Jim Wells County Potter County Young County
Denton County Johnson County Presidio County Zapata County
Dickens County Jones County Rains County Zavala County
Dimmit County Karnes County Randall County

GetDefensive.com is not affiliated with any of the following defensive driving schools: South Texas Dirving Services, Funnybone Schools Of Defensive Driving, LCB Professional Careers & Defensive Driving Inst., Amos Jebs Defensive Driving School, Choose Life Defensive Driving School, Fiesta Defensive Driving, Azteca Defensive Driving, Nam Driving School.