Ticket Dismissal and Insurance Reduction
Welcome to GetDefensive.com! Before getting started, please take a moment to read the following important information about this online Texas defensive driving course for ticket dismissal and insurance reduction.
GetDefensive.com is approved by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR) as a provider of online defensive driving. Our Course Provider number is CP021 and our School number C2084. You may view a copy of our approval license by clicking here.
This online Texas defensive driving class is divided into 12 chapters. Texas law requires that you spend a minimum of 6-hours taking a defensive driving course for ticket dismissal. Each lesson page is timed, and you are required to spend the minimum required time on each page before proceeding to the next page. Once you have completed an online chapter, you are required to pass a unit exam with a score of 70% or better. If you do not pass the unit exam, you will be required to repeat the failed unit. You may do this an unlimited number of times until you pass!
We are required to verify your identity before allowing you to take the final exam. We can do this in one of two ways: 1. if you have both a Texas driver's license and a vehicle registered in Texas, we can draw information from your TDLR and DOT records and use that information to ask you questions during the course, OR 2. You can submit a signed and notarized "Statement of Assurance." If you register for the course without entering your driver's license and vehicle information, thereby preventing us from asking you security questions during the course, you will be legally required to submit a Statement of Assurance if you have already completed at least 50% of the course. Therefore, please be sure to have your driver license and vehicle registration information handy during online registration.
Once you complete the online course, we will process and ship a uniform certificate of completion to whatever mailing address you entered during online registration. We will send your certificate via regular US Mail free of charge or you can select any one of our expedited shipping methods available through Federal Express. Please note that our certificate shipping cut-off times are 6PM Monday through Friday and 2PM on Saturday.
We do not ship certificates out on Sunday. If you complete your course after the cut-off time, or on Sunday, your certificate will be processed the next business day.
Also, please note that Federal Express shipments are processed according to a business day schedule. For example, if you select Federal Express Overnight delivery and complete your course on a Friday before the cut-off time your certificate will be delivered on Monday morning. Saturday delivery is available but can only be ordered if you complete the course on a Friday and call our customer service department at 800-851-3007.
If you are not fully satisfied with our online defensive driving course, you must request a refund within three (3) business days from the date of your registration.
If your certificate is lost or damaged in the mail, you have thirty (30) calendar days from the date of your completion to request a duplicate certificate free of charge. If you request a duplicate certificate after thirty (30) days from the date of your completion, you will be required to pay a $10.00 duplicate certificate fee.
If you are pulled over in for a traffic violation, a law enforcement officer will likely issue you a citation. On your citation you will find contact information for the court overseeing your traffic violation. Whether you would like to protest the violation in court or simply pay your fine, you must contact the court and disclose your decision within ten days of being issued your citation, or risk heavier fines and other penalties. Should you choose to simply pay the fine, the court will be able to tell you over the phone what payment methods you can use, as each Texas county differs with regard to credit cards, cash and other forms of accepted payment. In some case, if your violation is severe or you are under the age of 18, the court may inform you that your appearance in court is required. In that event, your court date will likely be on the citation. If not, ask the court when you phone in.
Driver Responsibility Program
If you are found guilty or plead guilty to a traffic violation, including if you simply pay the fine, you are likely to receive points against your Texas driving record based on the Texas Responsibility Program. While some violations, such as speeding by less than ten percent of the posted speed limit, are exempt from point accumulation, nearly all other violations follow a simple formula. If you have incurred a traffic citation for a violation, the Texas Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation will assess two points against your driving record. If your violation has resulted in an accident, three points are attached to your Texas driver record. These points will also be attached if you obtain a citation in another state that would have resulted in points being placed on your record had it been received in Texas.
In addition, if your violation is for driving under the influence, failing to obtain proper insurance driving without a proper license, you are likely to be subject to annual fines, called, "Conviction Based Surcharges," for each of the three years the offense remains on your driving record. Thus, if you are pulled over and are found to be driving without insurance, you will be fined three times for the single offense, in addition to points being assessed against your Texas driving record.
Suspension of Texas Driving Privileges
Once you have amassed six points on your record within a three year timeframe, the Texas Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation will suspend your Texas driving privileges. Even if you have managed to avoid the point accumulation but have obtained four traffic violations in a year, or seven in two years, your Texas driving privileges will also be suspended. If you are a juvenile driver under the age of 18, just two traffic violations in one year will result in a temporary suspension of your Texas driving privileges. Again, these violations will include any citations you received outside the state.
In addition to the costs of living without your driving privileges, the court fees and possible Conviction Based Surcharged that go along with certain traffic citations on your Texas driver record, you are likely to incur significant fines associated with getting your license reinstated. It is in your best interest and the best interests of your pocketbook that you avoid accumulating traffic violations on your Texas driver record.
Defensive Driving Programs
Thankfully, the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation allows drivers to attend a driver safety program, including online defensive driving programs such as those offered by GetDefensive.com, in order to have as much as one ticker per year removed from their Texas Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation driving record. In order to receive this beneficial treatment, you must obtain permission from the court overseeing your violation. The court's approval will depend on factors such as the amount of tickets already on your driving record and the number of times you have already attended driver safety school or participated in a defensive driving program. If it appears you have not learned enough from traffic school to be a safe driver after several times, a court may deprive you of another opportunity. Further, if your offense is of an extreme nature, such as leaving the scene of an accident, a court will likely not grant you this privilege.
If you are given such an opportunity, however, a online defensive driving program will remove the underlying offense from your Texas driving record, not only preventing you from accumulating points that could result in your license being suspended, but also preventing possible redundant conviction surcharges and the costs of getting your driving privileges reinstated.
Avoiding points on your driving record and a potential suspension of your driving privileges are not the only benefits you will receive from participating in an online Texas defensive driving program through Getdefensive.com. By participating in an online defensive driving program, you will learn valuable safe driving skills that will help you avoid costly accidents and traffic violations in the future. Also, the cleaner you keep your Texas driving record, the more likely a court will be willing to offer you lenient alternatives in the event you should find yourself involved in a future incident.
Finally, your Texas driving record has a significant impact on your insurance costs. Each traffic violation incurred is forwarded to insurance providers, who commonly raise insurance premiums for unsafe drivers. While Texas law protects the insured from having their rates raised simply for paying a traffic citation, after three citations your insurance can be cancelled and your chances for finding a new insurer that will charge you similar premiums is very small. It is better that you actively keep your driving record as clean as possible to avoid these unfortunate consequences.
Texas Online Defensive Driving
Getdefensive.com offers many forms of home-study Texas defensive driving course, including online defensive driving, DVD video defensive driving and streaming video defensive driving which can be viewed on your home computer. All of these will help you obtain insurance reductions, ensure ticket dismissals, and have points removed from your Texas driving record.
However, some people feel more comfortable learning in a traditional classroom setting than taking a driver safety program from the comfort of their own home. If you would like to participate in a defensive driving program to help lower your insurance costs, secure a ticket dismissal from your Texas driving record or because you were ordered to do so by a court, you should ask the court overseeing your citation and they will be happy to provide you with a list of brick and mortar traffic schools in and around when you call in to discuss your citation.
Ticket Dismissal and Insurance Reduction FAQ
How do I get my certificate of completion for the GetDefensive.com Texas online defensive driving course?
When you finish this Texas internet driver safety course, your completion certificate shall be shipped directly to you. It is your responsibility to furnish the Texas court with said certificate by or before your due date.
Can you confirm whether the GetDefensive.com TX online driving safety course is approved in Texas for internet ticket dismissal?
Yes. In Texas, the TDLR allows you to complete defensive driving once per year to dismiss a traffic citation. The online TX defensive driving class offered by GetDefensive.com is fully approved by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation to provide internet driver safety classes for ticket dismissal and insurance reduction.
Can I start and stop the GetDefensive.com Texas online ticket dismissal course if I am not able to take it all at once, and then resume where I left off?
The great thing about GetDefensive.com is that you can take the Texas defensive driving course in as many sittings as you want. When you log-out, our system will begin exactly where you left off in the course when you log back in again.
How much time do I need to allow for the GetDefensive.com TX internet driver improvement course?
The online defensive driving course takes at least 6 hours to finish. Remember, though, you are not required to complete the entire defensive driving class in one sitting.
If I change computers while taking the GetDefensive.com Texas online defensive driving course, will my completed work be lost?
GetDefensive.com gives you the convenience of taking the Texas driver safety program from any computer with internet access. Start the course from home, and finish it at the office, it's up to you!
Do you accept most payment methods for the GetDefensive.com Texas online defensive driving course, and is my personal information secure?
GetDefensive.com accepts most payment types, including credit card, online check and paper check. GetDefensive.com uses the very latest SSL-encryption technology to ensure that your personal information is protected.
When I take the Texas online driver safety or Texas online traffic school course, are the quizzes counted against my overall score?
The TX driver improvement quizzes are designed to prepare you for the final exam and will not prevent you from passing the course. However, you will be required to answer security questions throughout the course that are based upon information drawn from your Texas TDLR driver record and your Texas Department of Transportation vehicle registration. These questions are asked to make sure that the person taking the defensive driving course is the same person who registered. If you do not have both a Texas drivers license and a Texas vehicle, you will be required to provide a notarized Statement of Assurance.
Am I eligible to receive a refund for the GetDefensive.com online driver improvement course?
Absolutely! If you're not completely happy with the TX driver safety course, you may request a complete refund within three days of enrollment.
How can I log in and get access to the GetDefensive.com Texas online traffic school course?
Once you have signed-up for the Texas traffic school class, GetDefensive.com will send you a confirmation email. You may then log into your account and begin the course!
What is the price of the GetDefensive.com online defensive driving traffic school course?
GetDefensive.com charges $25.00 for its internet Texas driving safety course. This is the absolute cheapest fee permitted in Texas and you won't find a better deal anywhere!